Knife Crime

4 minutes ago, W6er said:

I have created a thread you might like in General Discussion! :) 

Surely you wouldn't want to execute a child, if it turned out they were under 18?

Aye, I'm afraid I would.

Let's not beat about the bush here, whoever done this is, whatever the age, has killed an innocent, I presume at this stage, 9 year old girl.

This individual is not an innocent "child", an expensive lengthy time in various institutions at my cost, nah, I'd rather not, there are more needy uses for my taxes. 

32 minutes ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

It’s a very emotive subject. I’m not sure the right answer, but perhaps you may want to ask Jamie Bulger’s parents for their opinion. 
I just hope nothing untoward happens to my kids be that rape or murder. I’m not sure how I would ever come to terms with it long term, never mind how I would react at the time.

Why would I want to do a thing like that? It's obvious their answer would be driven by emotion and grief. There's a reason that we have a judiciary system.

32 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Aye, I'm afraid I would.

Let's not beat about the bush here, whoever done this is, whatever the age, has killed an innocent, I presume at this stage, 9 year old girl.

This individual is not an innocent "child", an expensive lengthy time in various institutions at my cost, nah, I'd rather not, there are more needy uses for my taxes. 

I don't think you really mean that. Just to clarify, you're telling me that if a seven year old boy was found to be the perpetrator, you would want him to be executed? Could you "pull the lever" (or push the button, plunge the syringe) yourself?

11 minutes ago, W6er said:

Why would I want to do a thing like that? It's obvious their answer would be driven by emotion and grief. There's a reason that we have a judiciary system.

I don’t know what their answer is. I don’t believe they have asked for the death sentence. 
I did clearly say “It’s a very emotive subject. I’m not sure the right answer”

However it is clear to me that there have been so many knife murders in the UK in the last two decades committed by many u16s.

It would appear to be rising year in year.

It’s quite obvious that the current deterrents are not having the desired effect.

As I say I personally can't say what we should have in place, but I don’t think I’d be able to live with myself if anything like murder happened to my kids that resulted in me having to bury them and tell their mum and rest of the family. 

Out of interest do you have kids?

5 minutes ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

I don’t know what their answer is. I don’t believe they have asked for the death sentence. 
I did clearly say “It’s a very emotive subject. I’m not sure the right answer”

However it is clear to me that there have been so many knife murders in the UK in the last two decades committed by many u16s.

It would appear to be rising year in year.

It’s quite obvious that the current deterrents are not having the desired effect.

As I say I personally can't say what we should have in place, but I don’t think I’d be able to live with myself if anything like murder happened to my kids that resulted in me having to bury them and tell their mum and rest of the family. 

Out of interest do you have kids?

I remember seeing a clip of the mother shouting "hang the bastards!" It's totally understandable.

Do you think your grief would be lessened by the thought of the murderer being executed?

I don't have kids, no. 

39 minutes ago, W6er said:

I don't think you really mean that. Just to clarify, you're telling me that if a seven year old boy was found to be the perpetrator, you would want him to be executed? Could you "pull the lever" (or push the button, plunge the syringe) yourself?

Nae bother, next question? 

You are overlooking, as happens in these issues, the unimaginable grief this crime, and it's a crime no matter the age, has caused to the families etc.

8 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Nae bother, next question? 

You are overlooking, as happens in these issues, the unimaginable grief this crime, and it's a crime no matter the age, has caused to the families etc.

So you believe you're personally capable of executing a seven year old child? :unsure: I think you may have had one too many beers tonight, sir! I find that hard to believe.

I am not disregarding the grief in this case, which I believe I can imagine - I imagine the parents would be inconsolable, hysterical, wracked with guilt, incapable of work or socialising and may well need to be sedated. I don't think executing a minor is likely to change any of that. 

16 minutes ago, W6er said:

So you believe you're personally capable of executing a seven year old child? :unsure: I think you may have had one too many beers tonight, sir! I find that hard to believe.

I am not disregarding the grief in this case, which I believe I can imagine - I imagine the parents would be inconsolable, hysterical, wracked with guilt, incapable of work or socialising and may well need to be sedated. I don't think executing a minor is likely to change any of that. 

You are already starting to diminish the crime by placing this in the hands of a "7 year old child", which plays on the "aww it's only a child" attitude, again totally overlooking what the 9 year  old child went through, the pain and eventual death.  

If it was my child I would execute you. 

Nothing to do with beers, how dare you "disregard" my belief and, you have no idea what the grief could be, no matter how much you like to think you could "imagine". 

21 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

You are already starting to diminish the crime by placing this in the hands of a "7 year old child", which plays on the "aww it's only a child" attitude, again totally overlooking what the 9 year  old child went through, the pain and eventual death.  

If it was my child I would execute you. 

Nothing to do with beers, how dare you "disregard" my belief and, you have no idea what the grief could be, no matter how much you like to think you could "imagine". 

I'm very annoyed with you, @faraway saint! I just spat my drink all over my computer laughing at that. 🤣

I am not diminishing the crime, at all! It's all hypothetical in order to test your conviction that the perpetrator should be executed regardless of their age. I don't believe when confronted by a kid you'd be able to do it, and you're too proud to admit you've written some silly things tonight. 

I think you're going to have a sore heid in the morning, pal! Get a pint of water down you before you go to sleep tonight. :) 

20 minutes ago, W6er said:

I'm very annoyed with you, @faraway saint! I just spat my drink all over my computer laughing at that. 🤣

I am not diminishing the crime, at all! It's all hypothetical in order to test your conviction that the perpetrator should be executed regardless of their age. I don't believe when confronted by a kid you'd be able to do it, and you're too proud to admit you've written some silly things tonight. 

I think you're going to have a sore heid in the morning, pal! Get a pint of water down you before you go to sleep tonight. :) 

On the contrary, I believe you are talking utter shite.

If ANYBODY, of any age, hurt, or worse, any of my family I would easily carry out the penalty.

If you don't get that that's ok, I don't/won't pass judgement, that's your viewpoint.

To dismiss mines in the terms you have used are insulting and, again, you swerve away from the real point here.

The CRIME that has been committed, the effect on the people left behind and you focus on the "sympathy" issue, weak as it is IMO. 

PS Your poll is going well. :lol:

These days you can never tell but I would put my cash on that age bracket.

Whatever the age, as I've mentioned on this thread, a swift injection please, no need to waste oxygen on these types. 

The pain and grief for the parents and immediate family and friends must be unbearable. 

11 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

On the contrary, I believe you are talking utter shite.

If ANYBODY, of any age, hurt, or worse, any of my family I would easily carry out the penalty.

If you don't get that that's ok, I don't/won't pass judgement, that's your viewpoint.

To dismiss mines in the terms you have used are insulting and, again, you swerve away from the real point here.

The CRIME that has been committed, the effect on the people left behind and you focus on the "sympathy" issue, weak as it is IMO. 

PS Your poll is going well. :lol:

Aye, I'm sure many family members of the victim feel that way.  However, you advocated executing the perpetrator of the Boston murderer, 'whatever the age...a swift injection please, no need to waste oxygen on these types.'

Edited by W6er

1 hour ago, W6er said:

I remember seeing a clip of the mother shouting "hang the bastards!" It's totally understandable.

Do you think your grief would be lessened by the thought of the murderer being executed?

I don't have kids, no. 

I’d like to see evidence of that clip.

Once you have children your viewpoint may change. As I said previously it’s a very emotive issue. 

I do feel that our justice system is way too liberal, but I would not like to see our country behave like certain very oppressive regimes. 

If someone did murder any of my kids through a senseless meaningless crimeI would find a way to “deal” with them. 

There are so many families torn apart by needless murders whether those are by adults or children. Ultimately the majority of them knew what they were doing when they carried that action out.

Why is it fair that they get released at a later date to continue to live their lives?

How many lives are lost through drunk driving offences and the “killer” receives a light sentence? 18 months and loss of driving license?

We are way too lenient in this country. Something has to change.

As I said at the outset - “It’s a very emotive subject. I’m not sure the right answer.” 

I’ll leave it there.

2 minutes ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

I’d like to see evidence of that clip.

Once you have children your viewpoint may change. As I said previously it’s a very emotive issue. 

I do feel that our justice system is way too liberal, but I would not like to see our country behave like certain very oppressive regimes. 

If someone did murder any of my kids through a senseless meaningless crimeI would find a way to “deal” with them. 

There are so many families torn apart by needless murders whether those are by adults or children. Ultimately the majority of them knew what they were doing when they carried that action out.

Why is it fair that they get released at a later date to continue to live their lives?

How many lives are lost through drunk driving offences and the “killer” receives a light sentence? 18 months and loss of driving license?

We are way too lenient in this country. Something has to change.

As I said at the outset - “It’s a very emotive subject. I’m not sure the right answer.” 

I’ll leave it there.

Fair enough. 

I believe it was a documentary I saw several years ago. I have just found an article where states she does not support the reintroduction of capital punishment, though. Maybe her feelings on the matter change, or have changed.

The reality in all this sad situation, a 9 year old girl, gone, life taken away and for what? 

Pictured: Nine-year-old Lilia Valutyte who was stabbed to death in Boston

Lilia Valutyte, the nine-year-old girl who was stabbed to death while she played in a street in Boston, Lincolnshire, on Thursday night

A nine-year-old girl was stabbed to death as she played with her little sister in a street near their home in Boston.

Seemingly a "man" was seen running from the scene of the crime.

No doubt they'll roll out the "mental health" excuse. :thumbsdown

Sadly mental health is not an excuse and a real issue. NHS is so understaffed to support mental health that sadly incidents like this are a consequence of not spotting people with issues before it gets too bad. 

Just now, exiledfan said:

Sadly mental health is not an excuse and a real issue. NHS is so understaffed to support mental health that sadly incidents like this are a consequence of not spotting people with issues before it gets too bad. 

Aye, an easy "real issue" for people to abuse.

It's the modern day "back pain" which was also hard to disprove back in the day. 

5 hours ago, faraway saint said:

Aye, an easy "real issue" for people to abuse.

It's the modern day "back pain" which was also hard to disprove back in the day. 

Mental health is not a new or modern day problem. Look at the issues from ww1 and ww2 with PTSD and "mad houses" that were used unregulated up till Victorian era.

Nowadays the issues are understood and sadly underfunded in the NHS. 

55 minutes ago, exiledfan said:

Mental health is not a new or modern day problem. Look at the issues from ww1 and ww2 with PTSD and "mad houses" that were used unregulated up till Victorian era.

Nowadays the issues are understood and sadly underfunded in the NHS. 

Mental health is abused by many, a modern day crutch.

You name it mental health will be used to excuse it. 

11 minutes ago, Slarti said:
31 minutes ago, faraway saint said:
Mental health is abused by many, a modern day crutch.
You name it mental health will be used to excuse it. 

Ricky's posts?

9 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

If that's the same as "utter stupidity" then, yes. 

Not funny lads.

But, on topic, I've always been of the opinion that if somebody carries a knife and uses it on someone then the intent to kill is an obvious inference.   The law needs stick to fundamentals and use of a weapon should be attempted murder.  

1 hour ago, rabuddies said:

But, on topic, I've always been of the opinion that if somebody carries a knife and uses it on someone then the intent to kill is an obvious inference.   The law needs stick to fundamentals and use of a weapon should be attempted murder.  

Indeed but let's see how this plays out.

Matt Mathers
Sat, 30 July 2022 at 9:43 pm

Police investigating the killing of nine-year-old Lillia Valutyte in Lincolnshire have arrested a man on suspicion of murder.

The schoolgirl, a Lithuanian national, was killed in a suspected stabbing in Fountain Lane, Boston, at around 6.20pm on Thursday.

After an appeal for information, including the release of CCTV images, Lincolnshire Police arrested a 22-year-old man in central Boston at 2.45pm on Saturday.

Chief Superintendent Martyn Parker said the arrest came after “a combination of intelligence and information supplied by several members of the public”.

Lillia Valutyte: Man, 22, charged with murdering nine-year-old in suspected stabbing

Thomas Kingsley
Sun, 31 July 2022 at 9:10 pm

A 22-year-old man has been charged with the murder of nine-year-old Lillia Valutyte.

Deividas Skebas was arrested and subsequently charged following an appeal by Lincolnshire Police to find a man in connection with the incident.

Mr Skebas, a Lithuanian national, is due to appear at Lincoln Magistrates’ Court on Monday 1 August.

Lillia, also a Lithuanian national, was killed in a suspected stabbing in Fountain Lane, Boston, at around 6.20pm on Thursday.

Following a combination of intelligence and information supplied by members of the public, armed officers made an arrest in the Central Park area of Boston at around 2.45pm on Saturday, Lincolnshire Police said.