shull Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 (edited) Edited January 23, 2023 by shull Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 I’d have the same two centre backs in my team but I’d spell both their names properly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 (edited) 38 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said: I’d have the same two centre backs in my team but I’d spell both their names properly. (Bobby/Robert) Reid is spelt correctly unless I’m missing a joke here? Ignore me. I think I see exactly what you’re saying now. 🙄 Edited January 14, 2023 by Albanian Buddy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 (edited) I’m not sure I agree with the original “Becks” in that side. We could easily have had Tommy Wilson or Steve Clarke in there. Both far better footballers than Alex but not half as hard. The Munro-Weir combination was f**king sublime with Somner feeding off the deliveries. I also don’t think Lambert deserves to be in that side on his St Mirren playing career. Modern fitba is pish in comparison. Edited January 14, 2023 by Albanian Buddy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 1 minute ago, Albanian Buddy said: I’m not sure I agree with the original “Becks” in that side. I also don’t think Lambert deserves to be in that side on his St Mirren playing career. We could easily have had Tommy Wilson or Steve Clarke in there. Both far better footballers than Alex but not half as hard. The Munro-Weir combination was f**king sublime with Somner feeding off the deliveries. Modern fitba is pish in comparison. I’ve tried to do this many times and found it impossible. I could do it justice if I could name two teams. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 14, 2023 Author Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 Hunter Beckett Mowat Fitzpatrick Reid Copland McGarvey Stark Torrance Richardson Hyslop Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helmettroll Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 Money Clarke. Reid. Copland. Munro Lambert. Stark. Weir J. McGinn McGarvey. McAvennie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 (edited) Money Clarke. Reid. Copland. Munro Stark. Richardson. Fitzpatrick Weir McGarvey. McAvennie Versus Somner Torfason Spiers Abercromby McGinn Lambert Baker McWhirter Fulton Wilson Thomson Toyed with the idea of swapping McGinn for Shuggie. Six and hawf a dozen. Edited January 14, 2023 by TPAFKA Jersey 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 2 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said: Money Clarke. Reid. Copland. Munro Stark. Richardson. Fitzpatrick Weir McGarvey. McAvennie Versus Somner Torfason Spiers Abercromby McGinn Lambert Baker McWhirter Fulton Wilson Thomson Toyed with the idea of swapping McGinn for Shuggie. Six and hawf a dozen. Does my head in when players names are not spelled correct! Anyway has to be Scanlon over Speirs all day long. Scored twice as many goals and certainly more assists than “Walter”. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 2 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said: Toyed with the idea of swapping McGinn for Shuggie. Six and hawf a dozen. Which McGinn? 😂 Mrs McGinn never had as many as 6 kids I don’t think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 33 minutes ago, Albanian Buddy said: Does my head in when players names are not spelled correct! Anyway has to be Scanlon over Speirs all day long. Scored twice as many goals and certainly more assists than “Walter”. FFS!!! Major omission on my part. You are bang on. Scanlon for Spiers every time 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 10 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said: FFS!!! Major omission on my part. You are bang on. Scanlon for Spiers every time 👍 What about Speirs? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted January 14, 2023 Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 37 minutes ago, Albanian Buddy said: What about Speirs? You must be thinking of Gardner Speirs. I was talking about Big Boaby Spiers. 😀 In fairness, Speirs to Spiers was an autocorrect. Did it again when I typed it above. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 14, 2023 Author Report Share Posted January 14, 2023 12 hours ago, shull said: Hunter Beckett Mowat Fitzpatrick Reid Copland McGarvey Stark Torrance Richardson Hyslop Substitute Leonard Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted January 15, 2023 Report Share Posted January 15, 2023 21 minutes ago, Warrior Saint said: Shuggie couldn't lace S McGinn boots.. Certainly not tre McGinn of today, but Shuggie gave a helluva lot more to the club than McGinn did. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted January 16, 2023 Report Share Posted January 16, 2023 Might have but not even half the arse McGinn has.I agree. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Livinginthepast Posted January 16, 2023 Report Share Posted January 16, 2023 Saints have had way too few natural number 9s, and McAvennie is not one of them. Steven Thompson in for Macca. Jackie always had a mistake in him. Cup winning captain Jim Goodwin in for Cop. Other than that then Tony has it about right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 16, 2023 Report Share Posted January 16, 2023 11 minutes ago, Livinginthepast said: Saints have had way too few natural number 9s, and McAvennie is not one of them. Steven Thompson in for Macca. Jackie always had a mistake in him. Cup winning captain Jim Goodwin in for Cop. Other than that then Tony has it about right. Agree. Macca was actually signed by West Ham as a midfielder. It was only an injury to Paul Goddard that resulted in him being put up front with Tony Cottee by John Lyall. Disagree with Goodwin for Copland. Somner for me a better striker than Thommo. Imagine how good Somner would have been had he been full time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 16, 2023 Report Share Posted January 16, 2023 I’ll have a go at my team. I go with 3-5-2 to accommodate the attacking players we have had down the years. This team has goals galore in it. Even the goalkeeper can score penalties! Money Clarke Reid Munro Stark Ferguson Abercromby Weir McAvennie Somner McGarvey Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted January 18, 2023 Report Share Posted January 18, 2023 4 minutes ago, Warrior Saint said: Goodwin for Copland, don't make me laugh😀😀😀 It wisnae me 🤡 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan Posted January 18, 2023 Report Share Posted January 18, 2023 Best 11 players I've seen are: 1 Campbell Money 2 Tommy Wilson 3 Ian Munro 4 Tony Fitzpatrick (captain) 5 Bobby Reid 6 Mark Fulton 7 Frank McGarvey 8 Billy Stark 9 Doug Somner 10 Lex Richardson 11 Ian Scanlon Subs: 12 Billy Thomson 14 Frank McAvennie 15 Frank McDougall 16 Peter Weir 17 Steve Clarke 18 Billy Abercromby 19 Jackie Copland Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
st jock Posted January 19, 2023 Report Share Posted January 19, 2023 Alan Logan would have to be on the bench for whatever team is picked! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Livinginthepast Posted January 20, 2023 Report Share Posted January 20, 2023 On 1/18/2023 at 7:58 PM, Warrior Saint said: Goodwin for Copland, don't make me laugh😀😀😀 Great player though he was, dont recall Jackie ever captaining the side never mind lifting the League Cup. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted January 20, 2023 Report Share Posted January 20, 2023 (edited) 11 minutes ago, Livinginthepast said: Great player though he was, dont recall Jackie ever captaining the side never mind lifting the League Cup. Yes but the point of the thread surely is to have the best players in the team? By your logic you'd have Derek Hamilton or Paul Dummett at left back because Iain Munro never won anything. Edited January 20, 2023 by TPAFKA Jersey 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilbur Posted January 20, 2023 Report Share Posted January 20, 2023 My all-time XI would have to include John McCormack. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...