The Referendum Thread

Lanarkshire_Bud

Scottish Independence Referendum  

286 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

So your brother hasn't phoned you either? My brother lives in Wales and he was on the phone as soon as the news broke. Not sure it was the message Cameron wanted, all the same, he told me to make sure to vote correctly.........

Not that he's a Yes - he doesn't get to vote - he just automatically takes the opposite view to all and any Tory f**ktards.

f**ksake

if am gonna fone some c**t it would be to tell them tae get there arse along tae the game not how they shuld be voting for f**ksake

I may have made up some of the content of my last post in this thread..........although most people would have got that.

Buckie's a terrible/wonderful thing (delete according to taste/prejudice)

Edited by salmonbuddie

Cameron is a Tory knob, and all politicians are lying bastards.. Thommo should immediately be announced as the rightful king of Scotland, the bhigots should be sent back to the Irish leagues and the paupers to the blue square conference north.. you all know this makes sense...:P

i am currently in the no camp - but people keep reporting things that would make me think of changing, the bloody unions have only their own interests at heart, they will be thinking they might lose some members if a yes vote occurs. if voting yes gets rid of the lazy union officials from our country then i might be tempted - but i doubt it though as they will only make up their own wee scottish branches and continue to sponge off workers who are daft enough to give them money which gets spent on wee posters on a stick for the 3 people out of 300 who stood outside my workplace when they protested at cuts, the cuts went ahead - unions have thankfully lost their grip.

This poll is very interesting. The general consensus seems to be that St.Mirren as a fan base are very much pro-union....this thread/poll suggest it is a landslide victory for the nationalists.

At the time of this post we have 67.83% for Yes, 22.61% for No and 9.57% undecided.

It could be a case of it being a while away yet and many have yet to engage with the issue. Still, football fans on the whole seem to be pro independence.

Is it simply a case of working class attitudes or a true reflection of how the referendum will actually turn out?

i am currently in the no camp - but people keep reporting things that would make me think of changing, the bloody unions have only their own interests at heart, they will be thinking they might lose some members if a yes vote occurs. if voting yes gets rid of the lazy union officials from our country then i might be tempted - but i doubt it though as they will only make up their own wee scottish branches and continue to sponge off workers who are daft enough to give them money which gets spent on wee posters on a stick for the 3 people out of 300 who stood outside my workplace when they protested at cuts, the cuts went ahead - unions have thankfully lost their grip.

Yeh , there was a programme that SSN alluded to by Stuart Cosgrove . In the show he was asking people what being Scottish meant to them , one guy said that he was only British , as far as his passport was concerned. .

Eventually , Cosgrove ended up in an Orange Lodge , where, some head honcho guy told Cosgrove that he was Scottish but more importantly that he was very British.

Now there was a time when l thought all the British stuff was kept up by them just to get it up the other mob , but now l'm not so sure . I just can't see any of that Orange Lodge/ Sevco supporting elite ever voting anything but "NO" , nyeht , non , nada, f**ken never. .

The thing that always makes me laugh is that the English never refer to themselves as British , always only ever , English . British is a term they use for people living in other parts of the UK and also a word they use when they talk of the Army. .

Edited by saintnextlifetime

Surprised there's been no discussion here about the companies and owners, who yesterday and this morning starting to do the grumbliing about Wee Eck's 'ideas' that you were all asking to hear about.

I agree it's not all that interesting but I certainly expected the usual suspects to have been dangling their hooks...

... and winding up the wee fishies. :)

Surprised there's been no discussion here about the companies and owners, who yesterday and this morning starting to do the grumbliing about Wee Eck's 'ideas' that you were all asking to hear about.

I agree it's not all that interesting but I certainly expected the usual suspects to have been dangling their hooks...

... and winding up the wee fishies. smile.png

Bluto - I mentioned it at the tail end of last week. Most interesting was the accusations being made by business owners and their representatives in Scotland that if they speak out against Independence they quickly get a phone call from Alex Salmond promising them that they'll never get another order in Scotland ever again. I know it's an extreme example but it's very reminiscent of the historical behaviour of the National Socialist German Workers Party who - after a number of years in power in Germany refused to do business with business leaders who didn't become members of their party.

Oh FFS just when you needed a bit of pathetic and risible melodrama.

lol.gif

It certainly is.

See though - the thing is that the Yes campaign tell us No voters that it's not a General Election. We should ignore the fact that Salmond and Sturgeon are despicable arseholes and we should focus on William Wallace, the Battle of Bannockburn, Freeeeeedommmmmmm, Andy Murray, it's all about Scottish politicians deciding the future of Scotland, blah, blah, blah - and then they roll out ads like this.

It's quite clear that the Natsi campaign is plunging the depths these days though. When I read that one of the reasons we should vote Yes is to get it up Rangers and the Orange Order and when I'm told by one SNP MSP - this weekend - that I shouldn't worry about things going tits up in an Independent Scotland because Alex Salmond will negotiate a route back into the UK if we need it, I know things are really getting desperate at SNP HQ. :rolleyes:

Oh FFS just when you needed a bit of pathetic and risible melodrama.

lol.gif

Hmmm. The Principle of St Andrews University doesn't appear to think it's risible or a melodrama...

THE principal of the University of St Andrews has vowed to protect her staff from ‘any external pressure’ following reports of an SNP minister complaining about a Scots-based academic backing the UK.

Professor Louise Richardson wrote to all staff at the institution calling on them to ignore political intimidation after becoming ‘concerned’ at reports that Sports Minister Shona Robison had contacted Dundee University over the conduct of a history professor who attended a pro-Union Better Together event.

Ms Robison questioned whether Professor Chris Whatley’s appearance at the meeting was ‘compatible’ with him overseeing an academic study of next year’s referendum.

First Minister Alex Salmond yesterday defended the minister in the wake of criticism from opposition parties and senior academics, telling MSPs that she had done nothing wrong.

But Prof Richardson wrote to the 2,000 staff members at the university, encouraging them to express their views, ‘whatever they are’.

She added: “At times of national uncertainty the public justifiably look to universities for reasoned debate and considered argument and I think it incumbent upon us to provide just that.

“Whether or not my personal views are in accord with yours, I assure you that any external pressure to limit or suppress debate will stop at my door.”

Prof Richardson referred to an inscription over the gate to the former University Botanical Garden that says: “They have said and they will say. Let them be saying.”

“It is a useful and timeless reminder of the university’s commitment to free speech,” she concluded in the letter.

The principal, who has been in post since 2009, added that she did not feel it was in the university’s ‘best interests’ for her to express her personal views at the time.

The Daily Telegraph today reports that sources close to Prof Richardson believed she was apprehensive about making her own views known in case it discouraged staff from following her lead if they disagreed with her.

A spokesman for the Better Together campaign said: “This is a welcome intervention from one of Scotland’s most respected figures. The appalling bullying and attempts to silence people by the SNP that we have seen this week have no place in our country.

“Everyone, no matter what their view is, should be allowed to speak freely without fear of a government minister complaining to their employers. Professor Richardson has shown exceptional leadership on this issue.”

Leader of the Scottish Conservatives Ruth Davidson yesterday told MSPs at First Minister’s Questions that Prof Whatley’s views should have been welcomed.

She hit out at Ms Robison for ‘questioning his integrity’, adding: “You say something that the SNP doesn’t like and you can expect an intimidating contact’.

Ms Davidson also pointed the finger at the First Minister, claiming he had ‘refused to condemn such tactics’ and ‘refuses to back free speech’.

Mr Salmond rubbished the accusation, calling it ‘total and utter nonsense’, insisting: “The words ‘intimidation’ and ‘Shona Robison’ don’t sit easily together.’

He added that he supported Prof Whatley’s objective, neutral chairing’ of the Dundee-based referendum project.

Hmmm. The Principle of St Andrews University doesn't appear to think it's risible or a melodrama...

Try as I might, I can't find a reference in that report to Goebbels, Hilter or anything related to the second world war.

Until you stop making pathetic references to the Nazis I'm not engaging with you.

The boss of BP can bash his gums all he wants - welcome to democracy.

He would however better serve his company by investing his time into making sure they stop getting fined for polluting the environment across our planet.

Most major businesses support a No vote? Most?

You'll be able to provide details of where greater than 50% of all major businesses are saying that.

Good luck finding 50%. There must be literally thousands of businesses in Scotland which can be classed as major.

Oh and you might want to address why his fear is so great that he's investing billions of pounds in the North Sea anyway as raised above.

Our two biggest banks are quiet on the subject of this independence vote ,do you really believe they wont shift their HQs if the vote is yes.

It certainly is.

See though - the thing is that the Yes campaign tell us No voters that it's not a General Election. We should ignore the fact that Salmond and Sturgeon are despicable arseholes and we should focus on William Wallace, the Battle of Bannockburn, Freeeeeedommmmmmm, Andy Murray, it's all about Scottish politicians deciding the future of Scotland, blah, blah, blah - and then they roll out ads like this.

It's quite clear that the Natsi campaign is plunging the depths these days though. When I read that one of the reasons we should vote Yes is to get it up Rangers and the Orange Order and when I'm told by one SNP MSP - this weekend - that I shouldn't worry about things going tits up in an Independent Scotland because Alex Salmond will negotiate a route back into the UK if we need it, I know things are really getting desperate at SNP HQ. :rolleyes:

and here was me thinking it was in response to the Prime Minister of the UK stating the referendum was an issue for those living in Scotland and not for him to enter the debate, then at every opportunity sticking his tuppence worth in...

Perhaps I'm wrong.

Have the No campaign announced any positive alternatives to the status quo? I appreciate this is not, nor does it need to be, part of their mandate, but the survey on immigration highlights a difference between Scotland and England/Wales over which we have no control...is this fair?

Edited by Bart Simpson

Try as I might, I can't find a reference in that report to Goebbels, Hilter or anything related to the second world war.

Until you stop making pathetic references to the Nazis I'm not engaging with you.

Typical toy-scientist retort when you can't respond with logic and facts to repel the other's argument.

You really need to try harder.

I've never known anyBuddie else to lose in a debate with Dixon.

and here was me thinking it was in response to the Prime Minister of the UK stating the referendum was an issue for those living in Scotland and not for him to enter the debate, then at every opportunity sticking his tuppence worth in... Perhaps I'm wrong. Have the No campaign announced any positive alternatives to the status quo? I appreciate this is not, nor does it need to be, part of their mandate, but the survey on immigration highlights a difference between Scotland and England/Wales over which we have no control...is this fair?

Nah, it's well known that Salmond has been desperate to get Cameron to have a live TV debate with him prior to the referendum. Cameron has said that the Better Together campaign chose Darling as their leader and it would be wrong of him to act as Better Together's representative without a mandate. Cameron is quite right too. In the meantime though Salmond runs scared of Darling and refuses to have a TV debate with him. The tactics are clear. The Yes campaign want to tell those who don't like Salmond and Sturgeon that it's not about personalities - yet as usual with the Nats they want it both ways and they want to use Scottish prejudice against "Posh English Conservatives" to win votes by making it about David Cameron. It's pathetic really

I don't know what the survey on immigration was about but I can't see why the No campaign would want to fight on a mandate of anything other than the status quo. There's certainty in what we all know - whether individuals like it or not. The campaign may move to offer Devo Max futher on in the campaign, certainly a lot of people seem to expect that to be the likely outcome anyway. As for immigration surely Scotland, Independent or not, would have to fall into line with the rest of the UK on that policy anyway - either that or accept that there will have to be the dreaded border patrols between Scotland and England.

Salmond has said he will debate with darling, however he wants to have a debate with cameron first.

Darling is likely to have been sacked or sectioned by that point though as he is becoming more detached from what the no players like cameron are doing behind his back, losing a grip on the actual facts and getting angrier by the day. Hmm, maybe darling is dicko?

Salmond has said he will debate with darling, however he wants to have a debate with cameron first.

Darling is likely to have been sacked or sectioned by that point though as he is becoming more detached from what the no players like cameron are doing behind his back, losing a grip on the actual facts and getting angrier by the day. Hmm, maybe darling is dicko?

Are you saying , dicko is a darling? I'm sorry , Buddie , I beg to differ. .

Did you actually read the article that you quoted?

There was a potential conflict of interest which has been turned into bullying and intimidation by the propaganda machine that is the uk media.

On top of that, the irony of you implying that senior university figures, are scared to speak out against Independence is hilarious after the sight of Pam Gillies, vice chancellor of Glasgow Caley, walking out at the velodrome last friday with cameron and having the GCU brand beamed worldwide with cameron's "we love u scotland" message.

Did you actually read the article that you quoted?

There was a potential conflict of interest which has been turned into bullying and intimidation by the propaganda machine that is the uk media.

On top of that, the irony of you implying that senior university figures, are scared to speak out against Independence is hilarious after the sight of Pam Gillies, vice chancellor of Glasgow Caley, walking out at the velodrome last friday with cameron and having the GCU brand beamed worldwide with cameron's "we love u scotland" message.

It's not me that was implying university figures are scared to speak out - it was the principle of St Andrews University who had promised that she will protect her staff's freedom of speech no matter what view they hold.

There's more and more reports of the Natsi intimidation campaign though throughout Scotland. I wonder what the Scottish Version of the Brown Shirts is and I wonder if they've read up on their history and know what happens next. :roilleyes: