Diesel Car

I'm about to start a new job next week which entails a daily journey of 80 miles, that's 400 a week I'm reliably informed by Oakey, so I'm thinking of getting a diesel car in a few months.

Been made aware that newer models which have a diesel particular filter are trouble, across all makes, due to the regular problems & cost to replace.

Anybody got any experience?

Shull need not reply, he's an eejit. wink.png

The DPF only , usually becomes a problem if the car is used for a lot of short journeys or used in a situation , whereby the revs are always kept below 3k . Basically , the car needs to be revved over the 3k mark , every now and then and it is worthwhile using a cleaner through the fuel system or even a tank full of the expensive shell diesel , once every couple of months. .

Great thread by the way. .

I'm about to start a new job next week which entails a daily journey of 80 miles, that's 400 a week I'm reliably informed by Oakey, so I'm thinking of getting a diesel car in a few months.

Been made aware that newer models which have a diesel particular filter are trouble, across all makes, due to the regular problems & cost to replace.

DPFs have been fitted to cars for year now & the newer systems are generally more reliable. If your getting a 2nd hand diesel , you should check its service history & if possible talk to the garage that serviced it to see if they have had to "force a regeneration " If they ever did , mibbe best to avoid that car.

They are not great for regular town driving though as the car needs periods of higher speed motorway driving to initiate the cleanout or regenerate the system .

Taxi boys constantly have probs with DPFs due to the stop /start nature of their business.

If your not sure , go for a new small petrol car, they are almost as economical as some diesels these days.

The DPF only , usually becomes a problem if the car is used for a lot of short journeys or used in a situation , whereby the revs are always kept below 3k . Basically , the car needs to be revved over the 3k mark , every now and then and it is worthwhile using a cleaner through the fuel system or even a tank full of the expensive shell diesel , once every couple of months. .

Great thread by the way. .

Yep , what he says. Supermarket diesel can have a high Bio Diesel content which new diesels dont like. It can cause massive problems long term with costly pump & injector replacement.

C.G., i telt Dunderheid to get a new small car but he widnae listen.

Always had high emission problems with Diesel cars over the year. Had to get regular fuel treatment to remedy the problem.

Probably due to lots of stop and start short journeys.

I'll be driving over 40mph for around 70 of the 80 miles each day so should be burning most of the soot off.

I would, mostly, be using supermarket fuel so the tip about a cleaner or a more expensive diesel sounds logical.

Appreciate the advice, overall I'm slightly concerned but will give it some thought before making any purchase.

As Shull is on ignore I cannie see his shite. lol.gif

We bought a fiat ducato minibus for our daycare centre. After just 30,000 miles the DPF is goosed and fiat are quoting 2k for a new one!

Another garage has offered to try and clean it.

Apparently it is supposed to self clean on longer journeys but despite regular trips to Troon ours hasn't. We do a lot of short stop start trips... but balance that with regular day trips.

They have stopped selling diesel cars on Jersey after repeated complaints!

We bought a fiat ducato minibus for our daycare centre. After just 30,000 miles the DPF is goosed and fiat are quoting 2k for a new one!

Another garage has offered to try and clean it.

Apparently it is supposed to self clean on longer journeys but despite regular trips to Troon ours hasn't. We do a lot of short stop start trips... but balance that with regular day trips.

They have stopped selling diesel cars on Jersey after repeated complaints!

Some cars can run better without one , You can buy a housing that looks like the DPF , that replaces the actual DPF and reports say that the vehicle runs a lot better( not only more horsepower but better fuel consumption). You do need it for the MOT hence the reason the outside shape is the same as the standard DPF. .wink.png

FFS just get a taxi

The biggest cost in a car is the money you loose driving it of the forecourt. If your putting that amount of miles on it you'll be loosing hunners. Get an old Citroen C5 diesel no problems with new fangled easy to break crap and after you've run it into the ground you'll have lost the sum of he haw.

If you must buy a new car Shull is righ (saddam.gifnotworthy.gifnotworthy.gif avoid new diesels and also avoid small over turbo'd engines like the ford ecoboost or VW blue motion. They will NOT deliver the promised economy unless you drive like a numpty.

In second thoughts, you'll be finewhistling.gif

PS if your still having problems with your shoulder, consider getting an automatic if it's on that side.

I'm no expert but this is some stuff I heard recently on the radio.

1. New petrol cars are, mile for mile, actually cheaper to run over a few years than new diesel cars. This was taking into account the fuel (obviously), road tax, cost of repairs / reliability ... basically everything.

2. Just the other day there was something about towns and cities looking to introduce a sort of congestion charge, like London does, but this was only for diesel cars, not petrol. Don't know if this is local council or UK government thinking but it apparently has something to do with "clean air" - you know, that tax raising "clean air" - still unsure how collecting tax cleans the air but I'll leave that to the specialists. Can't remember when it would come in if it was implemented.

Arbroath and Stonehaven Towns and Cities?

On another note, it might be cheaper getting a B&B than paying fuel costs / wear and tear / etc. When I was working in Lochgilphead it was costing the same for the B&B as it would have cost in petrol for the round trip (never mind wear and tear). Just a thought.

I suggested this to my wife..................I couldn't repeat her reply but that's not happening. whistling.gif

Oops, forgot who (and where) the OP was. On second thoughts, just ignore everything I said - you probably would have anyway. biggrin.png

Another smart arse on ignore! tongue.png

Parkers do a calculator to help you work out whether petrol or diesel is best option

http://www.parkers.co.uk/cars/advice/buying/2011/october/petrol-v-diesel/

As for the DPF I dont think driving at 40 mph will be enough to clear it out. Best to give it some high revs where possible. I just purchased diesel for first time in about 8 years and although mainly paisley & Glasgow driving, a wee trip down to Langbank and back to Paisley should be enough to clear it out as long as road M8 is quiet and I can floor the accelerator to boost the revs regularly.

I dont think cruise control is the best for clearing out a DPF.