LOCAL JOB LOSSES

antrin

589 folk are currently employed at Chivas.  No Compulsory redundancies.... as long as folk are willing to commute/shift to the new plant at Dumbarton, when the Renfra Road one is shut......

http://www.paisley.org.uk/2016/11/scotch-whisky-distiller-chivas-leave-paisley/?utm_content=buffer6f9ba&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

:(

4 minutes ago, DougJamie said:

Ok, so its not Job losses, its relocation

Surely they will lay on transport

Why?  Not making people redundant is already a 'positive'.  Can't see why the Company would get involved in such logistics.

It's... what 25-30 minutes down the road?  They'd expect folk to find their way, if they want to be bothered...  if not, then possibly there are people in Dumbarton better placed to take on the jobs?

If only there were a bus or taxi driver who could let us know how much such a fare might cost?

23 minutes ago, antrin said:

Why?  Not making people redundant is already a 'positive'.  Can't see why the Company would get involved in such logistics.

It's... what 25-30 minutes down the road?  They'd expect folk to find their way, if they want to be bothered...  if not, then possibly there are people in Dumbarton better placed to take on the jobs?

If only there were a bus or taxi driver who could let us know how much such a fare might cost?

They could get the bus from the RAH. :rolleyes:

59 minutes ago, antrin said:

589 folk are currently employed at Chivas.  No Compulsory redundancies.... as long as folk are willing to commute/shift to the new plant at Dumbarton, when the Renfra Road one is shut......

http://www.paisley.org.uk/2016/11/scotch-whisky-distiller-chivas-leave-paisley/?utm_content=buffer6f9ba&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

:(

54 minutes ago, DougJamie said:

Ok, so its not Job losses, its relocation

Surely they will lay on transport

Similar to Grants when they moved to Lanarkshire. Wonder how many Paisley folk are still working there. :mellow:

Spoiler

9 minutes ago, rabuddies said:

Sadly, this will be down to the bean counters. The building on Renfrew Road will have a hefty resale value if they can get the site zoned for housing. A coincidence that the cooncil rejected the local plan recently that zoned sufficient areas to meet the government's target?

Housing on the site was my 1st thought.Another thought was the Retail Estate at Washington Rd could expand into part of the Chivas land.

It's not happening for 3 years so that gives the Town a wee bit of time.

19 minutes ago, rabuddies said:

Sadly, this will be down to the bean counters. The building on Renfrew Road will have a hefty resale value if they can get the site zoned for housing. A coincidence that the cooncil rejected the local plan recently that zoned sufficient areas to meet the government's target?

Maybe Tesco will move in. :rolleyes:

16 minutes ago, pod said:

Maybe Tesco will move in. :rolleyes:

On a completely unrelated matter.....Lidl are moving in to the site on Renfrew Rd that Tesco were meant to be building on.Other shops and restaurants to be built on the site.

Similar to Grants when they moved to Lanarkshire. Wonder how many Paisley folk are still working there. :mellow:

Spoiler  

Yeah I think it was a year or so that grants laid on a bus.

Bad news for the town and economy

40 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

Sad to read this ,Paisley has slowly had its industrial blood dripped from it. Local politicians really shoukd be holden their heads in shame. Even to put up some sort of public voice.

Aye, and local English school  teachers should be ashamed tae. :rolleyes:

Sad to read this ,Paisley has slowly had its industrial blood dripped from it. Local politicians really shoukd be holden their heads in shame. Even to put up some sort of public voice.

I sort of know what you mean, but in reality this has very little to do with local issues. Chivas' markets are not local ones, nor anything that local government can really have any effect on. It is terrible for Paisley that such a large employer is leaving, but I really struggle to see why the blame should be placed on the council.

3 minutes ago, zurich_allan said:

I sort of know what you mean, but in reality this has very little to do with local issues. Chivas' markets are not local ones, nor anything that local government can really have any effect on. It is terrible for Paisley that such a large employer is leaving, but I really struggle to see why the blame should be placed on the council.

Your correct the council cannot be blamed for this decision. However it is time for Councils to stop being complacent with businesses in their area and engage with them about the local issues that they are experiencing and how they can be managed or resolved. It sounds like the Council knew nothing about it, which infers that they rarely spoke to Chivas about their plans for the future.

This is a terrible blow for Paisley and its people. I know they are saying the jobs will be safe and simply a case of transfer , but in reality this will not happen.  As with Grants , there will be a few who will make the shift but mid to long term , i would think there would be little or no appetite for the journey to & from Dumbarton among the rank and file . Senior management and specialist trades may well be different .

local businesses will suffer, the town ,yet again loses face as yet another high profile business chooses to relocate or invest elsewhere and what of the fantastic building ?  Are we set to have another " T.A. Drill hall" situation ? 

Our local (and national) politicians should be on the case as we speak to ensure that the building is put to good use, to try and entice new business into town and to help poor old Paisley .

i know we are biased , but I struggle to think of another town which has suffered as much over such a prolonged period. From the Mills to Linwood, from Polsons , Ciba, Grants et al to this. When will it stop ? 

Edited by Callum Gilhooley

On ‎02‎/‎11‎/‎2016 at 5:00 PM, DougJamie said:

Well it sucks obviously

If Mhari Black would stop preaching to the world and actually help Paisley it would be a start 

I'm sure she will take an interest, even though the plant is not on her constituency.