santaponsasaint Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Going up yesterday Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 2 men working under a suspended load? No exclusion zone no secondary tether for the upright section being installed looks like the teleporter is being used to maneuvre those uprights I can see the main structural beams have been bored to take the horizontal beams, would I trust those guys to do that on the basis of astructural engineer report? I guess not! no traffic or pedestrian management And it looks like that COULD be someone riding on the teleporter forks no freakin' hard hats. It' an absolute disgrace that the club has allowed the work to be done in this manner, I thought we had health & safety advice in the club. Whoever signed off on this should hang their heads in shame. It's literally a crime to expose those guys to that kind of risk. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 (edited) John Noakes would have done this all himself with just a ladder and perhaps Shep for company. Edited December 12, 2023 by Albanian Buddy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 John Noakes wouldn’t have been on £14 an hour and was half- daft to begin with Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 1 hour ago, beyond our ken said: 2 men working under a suspended load? No exclusion zone no secondary tether for the upright section being installed looks like the teleporter is being used to maneuvre those uprights I can see the main structural beams have been bored to take the horizontal beams, would I trust those guys to do that on the basis of astructural engineer report? I guess not! no traffic or pedestrian management And it looks like that COULD be someone riding on the teleporter forks no freakin' hard hats. It' an absolute disgrace that the club has allowed the work to be done in this manner, I thought we had health & safety advice in the club. Whoever signed off on this should hang their heads in shame. It's literally a crime to expose those guys to that kind of risk. Have you contacted the club to make these points? 🍿🍿😢 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 4 minutes ago, faraway saint said: Have you contacted the club to make these points? 🍿🍿😢 Of course I also offered my services as safety manager free of charge several years ago and was pompously told that they had that covered very well thank you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 1 minute ago, beyond our ken said: Of course I also offered my services as safety manager free of charge several years ago and was pompously told that they had that covered very well thank you That's nice. No one likes a pompous arsehole. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Meanwhile, the club safety adviser has been involved in quite a few projects recently Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 1 hour ago, beyond our ken said: 2 men working under a suspended load? No exclusion zone no secondary tether for the upright section being installed looks like the teleporter is being used to maneuvre those uprights I can see the main structural beams have been bored to take the horizontal beams, would I trust those guys to do that on the basis of astructural engineer report? I guess not! no traffic or pedestrian management And it looks like that COULD be someone riding on the teleporter forks no freakin' hard hats. It' an absolute disgrace that the club has allowed the work to be done in this manner, I thought we had health & safety advice in the club. Whoever signed off on this should hang their heads in shame. It's literally a crime to expose those guys to that kind of risk. I think it’s the Kibble carrying out the work. Pin out and 3, 2, 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Monster Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Let's play, spot the person on the forks. [emoji1787]Nope I COULDN'T see anyone either. [emoji1787] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Let's play, spot the person on the forks. [emoji1787]Nope I COULDN'T see anyone either. [emoji1787]Maybe it's just cos I can't find my glasses, but I can't see any forks, never mind someone on them. Looks more like a big clampy/grippy thingy (feck knows the right terminology) holding the big red metally thingy. And if you think that's bad, you really don't want to hear me explain how da interweb workees. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Did someone mention forks? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Did someone mention forks? That may explain everything. [emoji1787] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Monster Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Maybe it's just cos I can't find my glasses, but I can't see any forks, never mind someone on them. Looks more like a big clampy/grippy thingy (feck knows the right terminology) holding the big red metally thingy. And if you think that's bad, you really don't want to hear me explain how da interweb workees.So the CHS is held by a clamp and a strop from a jib. That's 2 of the thingys that BOK couldn't see aswell. [emoji848]Wonder if they employed Buzz Aldrin as the astructural engineer. [emoji1787] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Monster Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Did someone mention forks? Let's keep a handle on the jokes. [emoji14] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 17 minutes ago, Cookie Monster said: Wonder if they employed Buzz Aldrin as the astructural engineer. He approached the club. They told him to buzz off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 23 minutes ago, faraway saint said: He approached the club. They told him to buzz off. That was Alan Wardrop Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 1 hour ago, Slarti said: 2 hours ago, Cookie Monster said: Let's play, spot the person on the forks. Nope I COULDN'T see anyone either. Maybe it's just cos I can't find my glasses, but I can't see any forks, never mind someone on them. Looks more like a big clampy/grippy thingy (feck knows the right terminology) holding the big red metally thingy. And if you think that's bad, you really don't want to hear me explain how da interweb workees. the two right-angled parts either side of the beam are forks, they are being used to support the beam The man must have pissed off while you were zooming in on the photo, or more likely fell off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 the two right-angled parts either side of the beam are forks, they are being used to support the beam The man must have pissed off while you were zooming in on the photo, or more likely fell off.I assumed you were talking about forks as in forklift type forks. So clampy/grippy thingies are also called forks? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stlucifer Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 5 minutes ago, Slarti said: 11 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: the two right-angled parts either side of the beam are forks, they are being used to support the beam The man must have pissed off while you were zooming in on the photo, or more likely fell off. I assumed you were talking about forks as in forklift type forks. So clampy/grippy thingies are also called forks? The clampy/grippy thingamabobs are forks that have been moved close together To clampy/grip the beam/column. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 8 minutes ago, Slarti said: 13 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: I assumed you were talking about forks as in forklift type forks. So clampy/grippy thingies are also called forks? Like four candles? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Like four candles? Already been used, do keep up auld yin. [emoji1787] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 The clampy/grippy thingamabobs are forks that have been moved close together To clampy/grip the beam/column.It doesn't look like that to me but, as I said, no glasses. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 16 minutes ago, Slarti said: Already been used, do keep up auld yin. Four candles? (And repeat) That was the joke. 😉 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted December 12, 2023 Report Share Posted December 12, 2023 Four candles? (And repeat) That was the joke. [emoji6]I don't thing those forks have handles. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...