Posted
18 hours ago, faraway saint said:

As usual some cracking pop songs with some not so cracking. 

Top 5 for me.... 

Ball Park incident - Wizzard 

Daniel - Elton John 

Help Me Make It Through The Night - GGladys Night

Nights in White Satin - Moody Blues 

Whisky in the Jar - Thin Lizzy 

FB_IMG_1738338226940.thumb.jpg.f85f2c97b24d07a83103c8e035c90316.jpg

Thanks for reminding me of this one.👍

Posted

I watched the programne about Lena Zavaroni’s life the other night on BBC iplayer which I thought was excellent if very sad. 
I remember as a wee boy watching her on Opportunity Knocks but I never followed her career afterwards. It certainly wouldn’t have been cool to admit to liking Lena as a teenager in the late 70s/early 80s, but I’ve obviously always been aware of the sad end that befell her. 
Anyway, the programme caused me to go searching for this particular performance which I think is astonishing. She is only 17 when she delivers this and was already suffering from anorexia. 
I don’t care what your musical taste is, if this doesnae bring a tear to your eye, you’re a hard hearted bassturt. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

I watched the programne about Lena Zavaroni’s life the other night on BBC iplayer which I thought was excellent if very sad. 
I remember as a wee boy watching her on Opportunity Knocks but I never followed her career afterwards. It certainly wouldn’t have been cool to admit to liking Lena as a teenager in the late 70s/early 80s, but I’ve obviously always been aware of the sad end that befell her. 
Anyway, the programme caused me to go searching for this particular performance which I think is astonishing. She is only 17 when she delivers this and was already suffering from anorexia. 
I don’t care what your musical taste is, if this doesnae bring a tear to your eye, you’re a hard hearted bassturt. 

She was a wonderful talent with a beautiful voice  

I remember seeing her singing on stage in Millport in the early 1970s.

Amazing 

Posted
2 minutes ago, shull said:

Amazing 

Agreed. I had no idea really. I always just thought of her as that precocious wee 10 year old singing Ma he’s making eyes at me. I was blissfully unaware of the talent she had beyond that. 
She could’ve had the world at her feet. Very sad story. 

Posted (edited)
16 hours ago, faraway saint said:

The Top 40 albums of the 80's seemingly............................not quite sure about that TBH.

May be an image of text

Nah. Lot of pish. 

Dire Straits Brothers in Arms was the biggest selling album of the 80s in the Uk.

Even Queens greatest hits black album was a massive seller but isn’t in this list.

U2 Joshua Tree another missing album.

Police Synchronicity was also their biggest seller surprisingly but omitted from this list.

I’m just looking at four of the biggest bands of the 80s and all are missing.

Not sure of your source but seems odd.

Edited by Albanian Buddy
Posted
9 minutes ago, Albanian Buddy said:

Nah. Lot of pish. 

Dire Straits Brothers in Arms was the biggest selling album of the 80s in the Uk.

Even Queens greatest hits black album was a massive seller but isn’t in this list.

U2 Joshua Tree another missing album.

Police Synchronicity was also their biggest seller surprisingly but omitted from this list.

I’m just looking at four of the biggest bands of the 80s and all are missing.

Not sure of your source but seems odd.

Hence why I said I wasn't quite sure. 🙄

Posted
On 2/3/2025 at 4:35 PM, shull said:

Amazing 

She passed a group of us on the prom in Scarborough in 1980 (ish) and when she heard the accents she obviously wanted to talk, however her now discredited chaperone physically hauled her off up a set of stairs and she was carted away by "handlers" at some speed.  The wee soul was nothing more than a commodity to her family, management and eventually her husband.

Posted
On 2/1/2025 at 10:36 AM, stlucifer said:

Thanks for reminding me of this one.👍

A brief episode in the 60s where there were several rock acts or pop acts in the rock end of the spectrum charting regularly.  I still listen to Cat/Yusuf these days as some of those songs are sublime.

Posted
6 minutes ago, linwood buddie said:

It’s on YouTube that’s were I found it.

I'll be able to turn that into a MP3 file then transfer to my phone although I was hoping my Spotify would have picked it up. 

Cheers.