The 4Th. Of July

RickMcD

4. I liked playing fitba in the pitch beside the church.

The fenced one? Was that no ashy...? unsure.png

That's the Swift, it's grass and always has been as far back as I can remember.

Is bluto no thinking of the pitches that were across from the carpet factory?

Probably - there was one blaes pitch and one grass football pitch there iirc, and a hockey pitch. Might have been two grass pitches, my memory's never been what it used to be, I'm sure someone else will come along and let us know.

Is bluto no thinking of the pitches that were across from the carpet factory?

Probably - there was one blaes pitch and one grass football pitch there iirc, and a hockey pitch. Might have been two grass pitches, my memory's never been what it used to be, I'm sure someone else will come along and let us know.

Naw.

I don't think so.

I think he was thinking of one just across from the Wallace Monument.

Just google-Earthed it. across from Cherrydown Road. Still there but grassy...

Perhaps I mis-nostalgiaed it. :)

Naw.

I don't think so.

The Carpetfield was the only blaes pitch in Elderslie, the Swift was always grass...and mud, lots and lots of mud. So definitely a mis-nostalgia moment.

For dave.j - there used to be a wee swingpark at the top of the hill, too, not sure if it's still there or not. I'll have a look next time I'm out at my mother's.

ETA - it's still there but pretty scabby looking...

Edited by salmonbuddie

Just waking up here in the land of red white and blue(this is the only country in the world that can claim this) so thanks rick,heres to a day of parades sales and throwing cows on fires.

How does all the Independence Day stuff rank alongside Sma' Shot Day?

The Carpetfield was the only blaes pitch in Elderslie, the Swift was always grass...and mud, lots and lots of mud. So definitely a mis-nostalgia moment.

smile.png

For dave.j - there used to be a wee swingpark at the top of the hill, too, not sure if it's still there or not. I'll have a look next time I'm out at my mother's.

ETA - it's still there but pretty scabby looking...

Not true

A blaes park in the Wallace Primary also

The blaes at Stoddies had floodlights also

The Swift park is now known as Elderslie West and hasn't been used for a few years now.

I think the council have a key or something for the wee changing rooms so it doesn't get used

Naw.

I don't think so.

No, there was definitely a blaes pitch on the same side as the Thorn near the church. Remember playing on it with a mouldy one freezing winters day. God that stung when it hit yer thighs.

Not true

A blaes park in the Wallace Primary also

The blaes at Stoddies had floodlights also

The Swift park is now known as Elderslie West and hasn't been used for a few years now.

I think the council have a key or something for the wee changing rooms so it doesn't get used

Forgot about that, but in my defence, I'm too old for that new school - it was a tottie field as part of Guy's farm when I was growing up.

Was out for a few drinks last night and thought it very strange that Gabriel's had red white and blue bunting and USA flags all over the place, have we become some sort of detached American state ?

Become?