Rod Stewart At Falkirk Stadium

lovestreet

Just read that Rod Stewart is playing at Falkirk Stadium in June,that's the Quo,10CC,Elton John and now big Rod all played that stadium in the past 12 months. Surely great revenue there for the Club?

Makes me wonder why we couldn't do something similar we surely have a better set up than there?

I don't recall us ever hosting an event like that apart from some fud from a boy band many years ago!

Thoughts".............

Just read that Rod Stewart is playing at Falkirk Stadium in June,that's the Quo,10CC,Elton John and now big Rod all played that stadium in the past 12 months. Surely great revenue there for the Club?

Makes me wonder why we couldn't do something similar we surely have a better set up than there?

I don't recall us ever hosting an event like that apart from some fud from a boy band many years ago!

Thoughts".............

None really ........................

Two big reasons. Covering the pitch for the gigs knocks hell out of the surface, and our capacity would be too small to be worthwhile, TFS, because it only has 3 stands, holds more for a gig than for a match, St Mirren park would hold fewer.

Aye Falkirk have got one of they horrible plastic pitches now too so that should be able to handle it better than proper grass.

SMP is big enough to stage the events that falkirk do. the playing surface isn't an issue elsewhere.

i.e. stadium of light who have 30-40000 in for gigs, stage them early close season then re-turf after the last gig. with our top notch groundsman, our communication links (train, motorway, airport), centrally placed in a high population area and plethora of hotels by the airport... makes you wonder why it hasn't happened yet

Why would any major act want to play a stadium in Paisley when just down the road you have The Hydro, SECC, the Royal Concert Hall, the Armadillo and even the Emerites Arena in Glasgow all capable of hosting similar capacities indoor? If they want a larger venue there's Ibrox Stadium, Hampden Park and Bellahouston Park all used to hosting large concerts and moving not too far east there is Hamilton Park Racecourse where Elton John, Westlife and others have played and Strathclyde Park which has hosted the Rewind music festivals amongst others.

first off we are talking open air gigs so Dicko's crashed and burned again with his comprehension....

you can rule out parks and racecourses too given the cost to erect fencing and ALL the other facilities required......

No one, not even the now defunct Rangers want to play at Ipox, and hampden is a tad busy being ripped apart for the games. they are also 40k upwards venues so if you aren't planning that sort of event then they make no sense whatsoever on a pure costing basis.....

Surely there is actually something you know about Dicko..? before you spunk over the keyboard again, pause... think man... start with the 2x tale and take it from therebye1.gif

first off we are talking open air gigs so Dicko's crashed and burned again with his comprehension....

you can rule out parks and racecourses too given the cost to erect fencing and ALL the other facilities required......

No one, not even the now defunct Rangers want to play at Ipox, and hampden is a tad busy being ripped apart for the games. they are also 40k upwards venues so if you aren't planning that sort of event then they make no sense whatsoever on a pure costing basis.....

Surely there is actually something you know about Dicko..? before you spunk over the keyboard again, pause... think man... start with the 2x tale and take it from therebye1.gif

Oh FFS. First off the reason bands play outdoor gigs is because they can get bigger capacities. The sound at most of those venues is generally pish. The exception being the Stadium of Light where there was an enormous investment made in the stadiums sound system and the acoustics. Why book a venue that would hold at a push 8,000 when you can take away all of the hassles of erecting a stage, pitch protection and worries over the weather and simply book any one of those fantastic indoor venues in Glasgow.

As for parks and racecourses you do know they have already been used successfully don't you? Avicci and Eminem played Bellahouston Park this summer, JLS, Westlife and Elton John have played Hamilton Park Racecourse.

You'd do well to follow your own advice - dafty....:rolleyes:

Why would you book a racecourse in the arse end of beyond for a 8000 person event, when you have a stadium with excellent facilities ready and capable of holding the event..?

It may have escaped your notice (if anything in known time does) that people like outdoor events..! Indeed in Paisley we have a stadium that attratcts several thousand people twenty odd times a year. and as far as i know there hasn't been much call to shift it to an indoor venue in glasgow?

Gigs at racecourses fall into two categories...

One - a bit of an add on after a meeting to help bolster attendance

Two- a 20k upwards audience music only event that can make the sums of setting it up add up

there are many, many succesful festivals, gigs planned for under 10000 attendees that make money and are succesful, just as there are football clubs with modest attendances that have excellent facilities (Domes and what have you) that operate within their budget...

You are just worried that someone will twig that SMP would make a great venue and then you'd be f**king beelin that SMFC continued to develop and prosper in it's community by staging well attended events... jeeez that would f**king kill you wouldn't it..?

Edited by somner9

Oh FFS. First off the reason bands play outdoor gigs is because they can get bigger capacities. The sound at most of those venues is generally pish. The exception being the Stadium of Light where there was an enormous investment made in the stadiums sound system and the acoustics. Why book a venue that would hold at a push 8,000 when you can take away all of the hassles of erecting a stage, pitch protection and worries over the weather and simply book any one of those fantastic indoor venues in Glasgow.

As for parks and racecourses you do know they have already been used successfully don't you? Avicci and Eminem played Bellahouston Park this summer, JLS, Westlife and Elton John have played Hamilton Park Racecourse.

You'd do well to follow your own advice - dafty....rolleyes.gif

Not so sure Elton John played Hamilton Racecourse!!! (Rugby Park / Easter Rd & Falkirk I think!

You may mean Tom Jones??

(Dicko wrang yet again!!!) bye1.gif

Why would any major act want to play a stadium in Paisley when just down the road you have The Hydro, SECC, the Royal Concert Hall, the Armadillo and even the Emerites Arena in Glasgow all capable of hosting similar capacities indoor? If they want a larger venue there's Ibrox Stadium, Hampden Park and Bellahouston Park all used to hosting large concerts and moving not too far east there is Hamilton Park Racecourse where Elton John, Westlife and others have played and Strathclyde Park which has hosted the Rewind music festivals amongst others.

Who is necessarily talking about bigger acts?

We could certainly hold all sorts of outdoor musical festivals, beer festivals etc. for smaller bands who could each perhaps bring 1000 fans. Including the pitch and the majority of 3 stands, I reckon we could fit 5000 people in there and hold events likely to attract that sort of number.

Who is necessarily talking about bigger acts?

We could certainly hold all sorts of outdoor musical festivals, beer festivals etc. for smaller bands who could each perhaps bring 1000 fans. Including the pitch and the majority of 3 stands, I reckon we could fit 5000 people in there and hold events likely to attract that sort of number.

With an additional stage in our very own Dome :)

Lot's of reasons why SMP wouldn't be suitable... It's too small and fully enclosed which would mean building the stage and backstage areas on the park, as well as the audience area. The stands are low so the sound leakage would be massive, plus it being in a residential area would mean fairly hefty noise limitations imposed by the cooncil. Falkirk at least has one open end for staging and is in the middle of nowhere.

How does Hampden get away with it then? It's in the middle of a residential area!

It's much higher sided and has bigger capacity, overall noise disturbance is lower. Although as anyone in the Mount Florida area will tell you, they can hear the gigs clear as day from their living rooms.

Indeed, not to mention the parking, litter, pizzing in the street etc etc - just like a Sevco home game really!

Maybe it's cause residents around Hampden Park are used to noise events taking place on occasion in the stadium whilst residents at Ferguslie Park won't be used to noise from the stadium at all....:rolleyes:

FS is right. SMP as a concert venue is a non starter.

Plenty of football grounds with "real" grass hold events like this, the damage is minimal and not a major factor, the size of our ground IS the major issue, as mentioned above.

You couldn't get enough people in to make it worthwhile and people would be scared to come to Paisley. lol.gif

Bit like yourself whistling.gif