Langs Pub, Moss St (The Brewers Tap)

Lizard King

I'm not sure how widely it's been publicised but Saints fans should be aware that Langs pub is under new management / ownership and re-opens this Saturday (7th Feb) as The Brewers Tap. Don't think the layout will change much but there will be some craft beer / ale on sale alongside the usual selection.

I know the new owner and he is keen to make sure that it continues as a "St Mirren boozer" so I wanted to let people know.

Good to see a long standing Saints friendly pub opening its doors again so I'll be paying it a visit!

Want to take mine with you? A quick return ferry trip, a few of trains and buses and you could be home for the walk by tomorrow. I'll pick him back up in August.

I'll do for a tenner a day, two hundred quid to cover my fares and £1 a day to cover Kennomeat. And if your dug fights with my dugs, you pick up the vet's fees. Cash only up front.

PS You should see our vet! She's late 20's, drop dead gorgeous and from Perth. A true St.Johnstone fan. Was at the Cup Final last year and loved it.

Her name's Josie - and auld Ricky likes her cos she's a specialist in arthritis and orthopaedic problems, I bet...

Plus he's blonde - AND pretty, as he said. smile.png

Less of the auld, ya cheeky bugger. Is six months such a long time? Anyway, I was once blond and pretty but time, high living , drinking, debauchery and supporting St.Mirren have taken their toll. Last time I was at the vet was the 2nd. of January. It's not a holiday over here. She's a brunette. I did have a problem with a bit of swelling that day but decided maybe it wasn't her field.

I'm not sure how widely it's been publicised but Saints fans should be aware that Langs pub is under new management / ownership and re-opens this Saturday (7th Feb) as The Brewers Tap. Don't think the layout will change much but there will be some craft beer / ale on sale alongside the usual selection.

I know the new owner and he is keen to make sure that it continues as a "St Mirren boozer" so I wanted to let people know.

Good to see a long standing Saints friendly pub opening its doors again so I'll be paying it a visit!

I had mentioned it on pub thread on here. Didn't make it in yesterday but popped head in on Friday to see Liz - defo getting a guid clear out. Look forward to my first pint next Saturday :-)

Defo took the high road...

A lot of us Glenburn folk got the meaning of Lang from a young age. I missed out attending Nethercraigs school but was one of the first intake into Langcraigs. On the first day it was explained to us that Nethercraigs meant Low Rocks and now Langcraigs was High Rocks. Stayed with me ever since. If that's not right I'm sure one of our many polyglots will let us know.

Speaking as an apprentice-polyglot, this is a brilliant post. Challenging.

Nether, I definitely would go with low or lower.... but I'd never got my brain into action (no Engrenage to quote the bbc/French tv title....) when thinking of Lang. I'd always plumped for the obvious Scots word for long.

But when seen tethered like it is in your example, there's nae doot that the description of both comes from roots other than Scots. German? Way back.

And that 'Lang' means tall or, as you say high. It's also the root meaning when used as people's name.

Ta for that. Simple pleasures. :)

Nether, I definitely would go with low or lower.... but I'd never got my brain into action (no Engrenage to quote the bbc/French tv title....) when thinking of Lang. I'd always plumped for the obvious Scots word for long.

But when seen tethered like it is in your example, there's nae doot that the description of both comes from roots other than Scots. German? Way back.

And that 'Lang' means tall or, as you say high. It's also the root meaning when used as people's name.

Ta for that. Simple pleasures. smile.png

What have parrots got to do with the word lang ?

Ta for that. Simple pleasures. smile.png

I've forgotten a hell of a lot I was taught at school but the lang thing stuck for some reason. Every time I come across it I think of high and wonder does it fit. Langside? Aye, quite high. Langbank? Dunno. It's long OK but before the road was there It's not hard to imagine there being a big high bank.Lanholm? Dunno, never been there.

Do you know the poem 'There's a bogle by the boor tree, at the lang loan heid'? Great poem but that actually made me think long. Auld Lang Syne is supposed to mean times gone by but I suppose we could say times long gone.

Oi McD......Where abouts in Glenburn was Nethercraigs school?