Things You're Not Doing Today

20 minutes ago, shull said:

Going to Unit 23. The wee yin ain't pleased. 

Sitting in at McDonald's. 

And the best news, going to shite overpriced soccer. 

Soccer?! :rolleyes: I didn't think you actually went to the fitba anymore, anyway...so it's business as usual for you, is it not?

26 minutes ago, shull said:

Going to Unit 23. The wee yin ain't pleased. 

Sitting in at McDonald's. 

And the best news, going to shite overpriced soccer. 

Aw ffs!! Over the last few days I thought this crisis had brought back the old nostalgic, Saints loving Shull.

Now the miserable boring auld f**ker has returned. 😩

41 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Aw ffs!! Over the last few days I thought this crisis had brought back the old nostalgic, Saints loving Shull.

Now the miserable boring auld f**ker has returned. 😩

But you still love me. 

Anyway, the great magical memories of St Mirren are still in my mind. And I will always reminisce. The 1970's and 80's were terrific times to go to matches whether we won or lost. 

Noticeably, matchday started to go downhill in the 1990's. 

We had the horrific seating of the North Bank. That killed a bit of my passion. 

Constant increase in pricing every Season. 

The disgusting and disgraceful invalidation of Season Tickets for Cup Ties. 

And many more shite happenings right up until the present day. 

Now I am thrilled to be out of it. 

59 minutes ago, W6er said:

Soccer?! :rolleyes: I didn't think you actually went to the fitba anymore, anyway...so it's business as usual for you, is it not?

Football and the beautiful game ceased long ago. 

The footy and soccer brigade have taken over and fecked it. 

Today I will not be

Wynching a lassie at the Kelburne

Enjoying folk night at the Brabloch

Warching Dan McGarry dribble the arse off of Stanley Matthews.

Buying a new telly from Arnotts.

Enjoying a Jaconelli's ice cream.

Buying new woollen gloves with "SMFC" written accross the knuckles from the club shop in the old Piazza.

Not smell of pish

Dancing in the Templars or the Co-Op

Attending at the Methodist hall to pay my union dues.

Heading out to the Elliston grill for lunch,

Swimming at the Storrie St baths.

Parking my car in Storrie St car park and paying Felix for the pleasure.

Playing snooker at Knox St.

Watching the Pirates in the ice rink.

Booing Cassius Clay from the ring at the ice rink.

Serving my country again.

Voting Tory.

Voting Labour.

Joining Smisa.

Walking past the Turf tavern, popping in for one more and regretting it.

Buying anything from Lews.

Referring to pen corner and expecting any of you to know what I am talking about.

Having a pish in the public toilets in Dunn square.

On 3/21/2020 at 11:27 AM, W6er said:

Contrary to what many think, the word "soccer" was in fact first used in the UK to describe our beautiful game. It comes from the proper name for the sport. Association football which differentiates from Rugby football.  Rugby football was shortened to Rugger and Association football, soccer so, technically Shull is probably more correct in using the word than football as it describes our type of football.

Thank feck I'm going back to work on Thursday!

5 minutes ago, stlucifer said:

Contrary to what many think, the word "soccer" was in fact first used in the UK to describe our beautiful game. It comes from the proper name for the sport. Association football which differentiates from Rugby football.  Rugby football was shortened to Rugger and Association football, soccer so, technically Shull is probably more correct in using the word than football as it describes our type of football.

9/10

9 minutes ago, stlucifer said:

Football quickly established its primacy as the number one sport in the world, and inferior sports should be ref erred to by a different name. Certainly all the old timers I know call it 'fitba' and never soccer, so I imagine it was just rugby playing toffs that needed to differentiate football from rugby.

4 minutes ago, W6er said:

Football quickly established its primacy as the number one sport in the world, and inferior sports should be ref erred to by a different name. Certainly all the old timers I know call it 'fitba' and never soccer, so I imagine it was just rugby playing toffs that needed to differentiate football from rugby.

If your talking about watching. Yes it is. If you mean participation, then I believe it's tennis. Inferior? All about opinions. 

6 minutes ago, W6er said:

A few Glesga guys I played the game with years ago called it 'fitbaw'.

1 hour ago, Slartibartfast said:
8 hours ago, Ice-tears said:
Did u see Ali in person in Paisley?

Was he not still Casius Clay when he was in Paisley?

If anything, he would have been “Cassius”.

but mostly to the public and press - he had already announced his name change.

this good Buddie article explains it.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-43471024

7 hours ago, hamlet said:

Tom,

You could have left a clue about the pen corner, !ike  a cinema!!!

you mean like, “That’s Newst’ me?”

ok I’m bored....

7 hours ago, hamlet said:

Your memories going. It was the Tapit  Hen. 

So is yours: Tappit..  :)

i liked the Turf.  Bathroom place, noo... in’tit?

2 hours ago, antrin said:

you mean like, “That’s Newst’ me?”

ok I’m bored....

So is yours: Tappit..  :)

i liked the Turf.  Bathroom place, noo... in’tit?

Spent many a Saturday afternoon in there, drinking in the lounge, nipping through to the bar for the results.

With the bookies being across the road you'd end up ankle deep in "bust" coupons by 4:55. :lol:

Sometimes the afternoon would blend into the evening...........................:guinness