Dannys Contract Renewal

Look at Inverness's squad list at the end of December then compare it to ours.

Theirs is full of nomadic players from the English and Irish leagues, whereas we have three players who have won full international caps plus a host of other SPL veterans.

Does anyone seriously think their budget is bigger than ours? No, of course it isn't. They are in the top 6 and are in both cups. We are in the bottom 6 and in one cup.

The difference is they are being managed properly and we aren't, simple.

Look at Inverness's squad list at the end of December then compare it to ours.

Theirs is full of nomadic players from the English and Irish leagues, whereas we have three players who have won full international caps plus a host of other SPL veterans.

Does anyone seriously think their budget is bigger than ours? No, of course it isn't. They are in the top 6 and are in both cups. We are in the bottom 6 and in one cup.

The difference is they are being managed properly and we aren't, simple.

Steady Lex, big Yogi has hit the ground running - backwards. If you mean 'managed' as in their general manager or whoever sources these unknowns that big Tel knitted into a right good solid team - I agree.

This being the point. Get the appointment right and you can get a good team.

Say Tommy Docherty's pitch was crap and the club fired him. They'd advertise the position and would no doubt pick who they thought was the best groundsman/woman from the applicants. They'd look at their CV and see where they'd worked and what they had done.

No-one would be considering who might come in to replace Tommy until they knew the calibre of possible replacements. No-one on here is required to say Ian Murray, Paul Hartley, Jimmy Calderwood, Thompson & Teale, Wee Jimmy Krankie or Andre Villas Boas.

If we don't think the current incumbent is up to much, we are free to say so.

If you were an idiot then that's exactly what you might well do.

A sensible person would find out whether a better replacement was available and willing to come first before firing a person from such a specialist position.

Imagine the embarassment of firing your "crap employee" and then finding nobody else appyling in the same salary bracket was better than him.

You'd look a right twat.

Imagine if the best candidate applying for the job was Pat Fenlon.

My point is that , as always , you talk bollocks. Danny was a low cost , high risk appointment and he's passed his sell-by date , they'll be a queue a mile long of low-cost, high risk candidates for the job ! Life goes on , St Mirren will always be here , with or without Danny , and that's all that matters !

FFS so you haven't a clue either. lol.gif

You're not bothered so long as it's not your financial risk eh?

Don't worry, Danny probably won't be here next season unless he starts winning every game so haud onto yer gusset for another few months and it won't cost us a bean.

This being the point. Get the appointment right and you can get a good team.

Or alternatively the same "right appointment" can get you relegated first and then turn you into a top 6 team just like Butcher.

If only we had some device which we could plug our prospective managers and players into which would accurately predict how they'd all work together........

His budget dictates his signings and that's hee haw.

He was quite happy to spunk his budget on guys like Imrie with transfer fees.....

That argument doesn't wash I'm afraid, he chose not to spend his budget pre season the panic signed Grainger. Great business.

Forgive me for hypothesising slightly, but I think it's relevant. Our next two games are Hibs (a) and Partick Thistle (h).

Does the forum think Danny will survive if we lose both these matches?

If we did we'd almost certainly be in 11th spot by the end of January, it's not exactly unlikely. I know he almost got sacked after our last home loss to Thistle, I wonder if he'd survive another?

Or alternatively the same "right appointment" can get you relegated first and then turn you into a top 6 team just like Butcher.

If only we had some device which we could plug our prospective managers and players into which would accurately predict how they'd all work together........

Aye and he damn near saved Inverness despite coming in late. Another goal against by Hamilton and we were down.

Danny cannot be defended for his work this season.

Forgive me for hypothesising slightly, but I think it's relevant. Our next two games are Hibs (a) and Partick Thistle (h).

Does the forum think Danny will survive if we lose both these matches?

If we did we'd almost certainly be in 11th spot by the end of January, it's not exactly unlikely. I know he almost got sacked after our last home loss to Thistle, I wonder if he'd survive another?

He won't be sacked. Hs contract probably won't be renewed, but I would be very, very surprised if the BoD bag him before the summer. If they were going to do this, they'd have done it back in October.

I'm not so sure drew, if we go on another winless run like we did at the start of the season and crowds fall then the board will have no choice.

Aye and he damn near saved Inverness despite coming in late. Another goal against by Hamilton and we were down.

Danny cannot be defended for his work this season.

To be pedantic it was two goals & we were fairly safe that day as only a Falkirk win and us losing by 2 more goals than ICT could send us down - we were never in much danger of losing by three goals in that game.

I'm not so sure drew, if we go on another winless run like we did at the start of the season and crowds fall then the board will have no choice.

Bringing in a new manager with a handful of matches left would be less likely to have an impact than if they had done so back in October after our abysmal start to the season. If they were of a mind to sack the manager, they would have been more likely to do it then, I'd have thought, as it would have afforded his replacement an opportunity to do some business in the January window and affect change in other areas.

I'm not offering a personal view one way or the other, but, as I've said, I don't anticipate Danny being shown the door before his contract expires.

it would have cost them 50k in october to get rid of Dl &TC it want cost the bod a penny come may ,nae mair contracts are gettin handed oot till the summer,

To be pedantic it was two goals & we were fairly safe that day as only a Falkirk win and us losing by 2 more goals than ICT could send us down - we were never in much danger of losing by three goals in that game.

We were in danger. Mark Howard was punch drunk for a good bit of it and Mathers was warming up. We were very lucky that season.

FFS so you haven't a clue either. :lol

You're not bothered so long as it's not your financial risk eh?

Don't worry, Danny probably won't be here next season unless he starts winning every game so haud onto yer gusset for another few months and it won't cost us a bean.

No but it might cost us our top flight status. Wake up happyclapper

If it does, it does.

It's only a game.

Life will go on.

We'll still have a club.

The most important thing is that the BOD don't panic like our fanbase and start throwing money, which we don't have, at the problem .

Fair enough. To be honest maybe he has no real money and if that's the case he has a strong argument to remain in charge .

You're just going to have to tolerate it until the summer when we will probably now see a new manager and a completely new squad.

Getting angry is just a pointless waste of time and energy.

Nothing we can do as fans.

We were in danger. Mark Howard was punch drunk for a good bit of it and Mathers was warming up. We were very lucky that season.

Hamilton were happy to win 1-0, we were happy to lose 1-0, we obviously remember the game differently as it never crossed mind that we were in trouble of going down. The real drama happened the week before at Falkirk.

If you were an idiot then that's exactly what you might well do.

A sensible person would find out whether a better replacement was available and willing to come first before firing a person from such a specialist position.

Imagine the embarassment of firing your "crap employee" and then finding nobody else appyling in the same salary bracket was better than him.

You'd look a right twat.

Imagine if the best candidate applying for the job was Pat Fenlon.

Bizarre - even for you. Are you suggesting that if SG intends to bag Danny he goes out and canvasses possible replacements (many of whom may be currently employed by other clubs) while Danny is still in position?

Isn't that called tapping people up, or at the very least, being disrespectful to the clubs who currently employ a manager that SG has an eye on?

Bizarre to the point of being Dicksonesque.

Can we afford a Butcher?

From a Hibs perspective then clearly no.

Its from the Inverness perspective that matters however.

He's been out of a job for 2 years after being sacked by Brentford. We could clearly have afforded him at that stage.

However, leaving that aside, RickMcD states that appointing an untried cheap manager would be depressing.

What would be more depressing is appointing an expensive and tried manager! If such a manager has both attributes then we should clearly be staying well clear!

Dunderheid masses. Well called RickMcD! 1eye.gif

Just to give your febrile mind a rest, the bit I found depressing was the even smaller budget. Judging by what's going on at the minute- or should I say not going on- maybe we should be asking what's smaller than zilch? I hope I now get egg all over my face with the announcement that we have just signed a couple of players that all our fans approve of. I know,I know. We've got more than our fair share of greetin faced know-alls who live only to knock our club. But I can dream.

New and untried players and managers are part of the lifeblood of football. Quite a few of us remember the day a young Alex Ferguson arrived at Love Street and breathed new life into our club. We might get lucky again but not that lucky. Alex of course had a very strong personality which was a big plus. I do think that is something Danny lacks. He's maybe too nice a guy. There are unquestionably a few big egos in our dressing room and I would pity a young untried guy coming in if he is not made of stern stuff.

Just to give your febrile mind a rest, the bit I found depressing was the even smaller budget. Judging by what's going on at the minute- or should I say not going on- maybe we should be asking what's smaller than zilch? I hope I now get egg all over my face with the announcement that we have just signed a couple of players that all our fans approve of. I know,I know. We've got more than our fair share of greetin faced know-alls who live only to knock our club. But I can dream.

New and untried players and managers are part of the lifeblood of football. Quite a few of us remember the day a young Alex Ferguson arrived at Love Street and breathed new life into our club. We might get lucky again but not that lucky. Alex of course had a very strong personality which was a big plus. I do think that is something Danny lacks. He's maybe too nice a guy. There are unquestionably a few big egos in our dressing room and I would pity a young untried guy coming in if he is not made of stern stuff.

Indeed. One of the more bizarre reasons for wanting the manager’s head was aired on Saturday, i.e. that when Adams & McNamara had a go at Jim Goodwin in their post-match interviews Danny should’ve asked them for a square go rather than maintain a bit of dignity.