Johann Lamont Resigns

But you living in rUK getting vote in Indy ref would've been like rest of EU getting a vote on Uk leaving EU.

Her statement is good politics from her as it leaves the 3 main wratmindyer parties between a rock and a hard place.

Irrespective of whether or not you agree with her viewpoint.

Indeed it is.

A very different scenario from the referendum vote, unless of course you want to twist it to suit your agenda or you're continuing to spit the dummy because you quite correctly didn't get a vote in the referendum.wink.png

Great idea. Why would anyone in London want to stay on Greenwich Mean Time anyway.......

Because I actually LIVE on the Greenwich Meridian?

That is where mah hoose is situated?

I could sell it and buy Renfrewshire but, of course, I don't want to take a drop in living standards... :P

I'm astounded by your depth of hatred to anything or anyone who dares to speak their mind.

There must be one helluva lot of fruitcakes walking the corridors of Westminster and Hollyrood as most politicians ultimately crusade for their perception of their chosen party's ideals.

NS is a socialist. Her beliefs reflect this.

While I don't agree with a lot of the nanny state interference the current SNP government indulge in I think it quite amazing that someone who spouts on a forum has the audacity to question anyone's sanity.

YA MADDY!:whistle

We may all be maddies but, for sure, Fruitcake is NOT a socialist, as I know them.

She is a Nationalist.

Her initials are a clue to this.

Murphy is a vegetarian, tee-totaller with a very firm line in invisible sky-daddies and the power based near the Italian capital. Must be a right barrel of laughs on a night oot. Also went to Uni for nine years but didnae get a degree. Is this the level down to which Labour have stooped? A guy whose life is based on superstition?

And someone who should be investigated over excessive expenses claims. Even after all the furore over MPs expenses, this guy takes the biscuit.

soap box jim was always a stick on for this. If he comes across as a total fud (which he is) and the going get s tough, he'll probably get a henchman to crack an egg across his impenetrable dome in holyrood, claim it was nicola sturgeon, then resign.

Him and about Labour suit each other down to a T.

And someone who should be investigated over excessive expenses claims. Even after all the furore over MPs expenses, this guy takes the biscuit.

He might take the biscuit, but he'll make sure to claim it back on expenses

Because I actually LIVE on the Greenwich Meridian?

That is where mah hoose is situated?

I could sell it and buy Renfrewshire but, of course, I don't want to take a drop in living standards... :P

Isnt the proposal from the little Englanders to move away from GMT though?

There was me thinking it must be us undemocratic Yessers trying to force poor old England into using a time zone completely unrelated to their geographic location......

I couldn't give a flying f**k about more devo powers

i voted no regardlesd

no was in the lead before the so called promise and i don't know a single person who voted no who was swayed by it

i saw a number of swaying voters getting interviewed before the vote and not one of them mentioned more devo

we should stop pabdering to the greetin faced yes mob

they only account for approaching a third of the electorate

the yes vote was mainly made up of ill educated poor people. As time goes on and people get richer, the yes vote will dwindle

I couldn't give a flying f**k about more devo powers

i voted no regardlesd

no was in the lead before the so called promise and i don't know a single person who voted no who was swayed by it

i saw a number of swaying voters getting interviewed before the vote and not one of them mentioned more devo

we should stop pabdering to the greetin faced yes mob

they only account for approaching a third of the electorate

the yes vote was mainly made up of ill educated poor people. As time goes on and people get richer, the yes vote will dwindle

Evry poll and every pundit indicated the "YES" campaign was on a roll. The predictions were it was too close to call.

That's the very reason panic set in and a prime minister, who previously said it was up to the Darling darling to set out the case, suddenly decided it was a UK problem.

That's the very reason all those MP's were told to ignore Westminster and get their erses up beyond Hadrian's wall.

That's why this rushed out piece of toilet paper was put into public domain.

Paint as many pretty pictures as you want but the reality is those measures show, even if the three or so people you saw being asked denied any swaying, the reality is it DID affect the outcome and the parties who were party to the pledge must be held accountable.

There appears to be lies, damn lies, statistics and UK party leaders.

Evry poll and every pundit indicated the "YES" campaign was on a roll. The predictions were it was too close to call.

That's the very reason panic set in and a prime minister, who previously said it was up to the Darling darling to set out the case, suddenly decided it was a UK problem.

That's the very reason all those MP's were told to ignore Westminster and get their erses up beyond Hadrian's wall.

Paint as many pretty pictures as you want but the reality is those measures show, even if the three or so people you saw being asked denied any swaying, the reality is it DID affect the outcome and the parties who were party to the pledge must be held accountable.

Yeah he also ignored the polls before the single Yes/No question was agreed on, that those wanting full independence and those wanting Devo Max accounted for more than twio thirds of the vote intention. In other words only 30% ish wanted things to remain as they are.

He's really not getting why (and Lex is another, Reynard another and Dickson yet another) the losing Yes side is being rewarded by more powers.

Isnt the proposal from the little Englanders to move away from GMT though?

There was me thinking it must be us undemocratic Yessers trying to force poor old England into using a time zone completely unrelated to their geographic location......

It is.

I just like living on it.

GMT in winter and GMT +1 in Summer would put us more in line with our sensible European partners and help cut accidents.

Harold Wilson saw how good it was and I lived thru a wee experiment of it, back in the day. It does make sense for the majority.

If only we weren't constrained to a Great British desire for unity.... :rolleyes:

It is.

GMT in winter and GMT +1 in Summer would put us more in line with our sensible European partners and help cut accidents.

Harold Wilson saw how good it was and I lived thru a wee experiment of it, back in the day. It does make sense for the majority.

If only we weren't constrained to a Great British desire for unity.... rolleyes.gif

Well Harold Wilson was suffering from dementia by the 70s, so i suppose all kinds of things made sense to him.

I remember this experiment well, one of the reasons it failed was the fact that schoolkids in Scotland were walking to school in proper darkness (conditions you wouldn't let them wander around in night-time) for over 2 months of the year. i also recall the proponents trying to get kids issued with fluoroescent sashes and wee plastic hats with rotating lights on top saying "see, it's not so bad".

Our daylight-saving time suits our latitude, as proven by said experiment. Why can't you accept the settled will of those entrusted to decide this?

Google the 'Bradley effect'.

There's no question the polls narrowed in the weeks running up to the vote. They narrowed from a huge distance though.

The problem with polling is that there were no voters telling pollsters they were voting yes as they felt it more patriotic or whatever. In the polling booth though, they voted no. I bet there's people on this forum who told their mates they were voting yes, and still are telling them that they did, but they actually voted no. Nothing wrong with that of course, it's a private ballot.

If I recall correctly the polls converged in the last week. 3 polls came out showing 52-48 no with a 3% margin of error.

Final result? Outwith the margin of error, 55.3-44.7%. The polls were doing YES a a huge favour throughout the race.

Google the 'Bradley effect'.

There's no question the polls narrowed in the weeks running up to the vote. They narrowed from a huge distance though.

The problem with polling is that there were no voters telling pollsters they were voting yes as they felt it more patriotic or whatever. In the polling booth though, they voted no. I bet there's people on this forum who told their mates they were voting yes, and still are telling them that they did, but they actually voted no. Nothing wrong with that of course, it's a private ballot.

If I recall correctly the polls converged in the last week. 3 polls came out showing 52-48 no with a 3% margin of error.

Final result? Outwith the margin of error, 55.3-44.7%. The polls were doing YES a a huge favour throughout the race.

Sooo Sory.

I stand corrected.

Apparently there are lies, damn lies, statistics, UK party leaders and everybody who said they voted YES.

Got it now. Thanks for the clarification.whistling.gifbangin.gif

Sooo Sory.

I stand corrected.

Apparently there are lies, damn lies, statistics, UK party leaders and everybody who said they voted YES.

Got it now. Thanks for the clarification.whistling.gifbangin.gif

Well it's clear there are people who said they were going to vote yes, but actually voted no.

That's why 3 pollsters who called it 52-48 all got it wrong out with their margin of error.

That's why this race was never even close. No was always going to win, as I had said all along.

Here is what most of us have been saying for ages

FORMER Labour MEP has warned that shadow international development minister Jim Murphy would help to break up the Union if elected leader of the Scottish Labour Party.

Hugh Kerr, who spent more than three decades as an activist, councillor and MEP in Scotland and England writes in todays Scotsman that he feels some sympathy for the pain that socialists who remain in the Labour Party in Scotland must feel.

Mr Kerr fell out with the New Labour government shortly after the general election in May 1997, accusing the Prime Minister, Tony Blair, of Stalinist tendencies for planning to abolish euro-constituencies and for introducing a party list regional system for future European elections.

He was expelled from the Labour Party in the late 1998 for his opposition to Mr Blair.

Keep up to date with all aspects of Scottish life with The Scotsman iPhone app, completely free to download and use

In his letter, Mr Kerr claims that Labour signed its own death warrant when it decided to campaign with the Conservatives and oppose independence.

The former MEP adds: If Labour had campaigned for independence, we would have won the vote and Labour could have won the next Scottish Parliament election.

The only person who might stand a chance of pulling Labour together and putting up a fight would be Gordon Brown, but the great clunking fist sees himself as a colossus on the world stage and is very unlikely to stand, not least because he isnt certain he would win.

So that leaves Jim Murphy as the likely winner of the leadership election but the certain loser of the general election in Scotland next year and of the Scottish Parliament in 2016.

Mr Kerr continues by saying that Mr Murphy may help in the historic task of gaining independence for Scotland.

He adds: A Murphy leadership will ensure at least 20 MPs for the SNP next May and I cant see anyone taking Ed Miliband seriously as an alternative prime minister.

So five more years of a Tory government sustained by a rump of Liberals and a sack of Ukip MPs, a vote to leave the EU in 2017 and lots more cuts will convince the Scottish people that independence is the only answer.

It is.

If only we weren't constrained to a Great British desire for unity.... :rolleyes:

Am I being whooshed here? That's what we currently have in the UK - BST is GMT+1, we've just gone back to GMT.

The wee experiment, which I lived through, too, was unsuccessful. The same wee experiment, in Portugal, on much the same longitude as the UK but further south, was also unsuccessful. Spain, too, has given serious consideration to changing to GMT.

Next line in this argument will be that Sweden is as far North as Scotland and they manage fine on European Central Time..........

Am I being whooshed here? That's what we currently have in the UK - BST is GMT+1, we've just gone back to GMT.

The wee experiment, which I lived through, too, was unsuccessful. The same wee experiment, in Portugal, on much the same longitude as the UK but further south, was also unsuccessful. Spain, too, has given serious consideration to changing to GMT.

Next line in this argument will be that Sweden is as far North as Scotland and they manage fine on European Central Time..........

Naw, ye wurnae being whooshed. I made a stupid typo. (Distracted before what proved to be a mean dental appointment. )

Sorry.

I meant BST in winter and BST+1 in summer. SDST, which was what I meant in referring to our European allies (France, Germany, mainland Spain).

There are compelling reasons in its favour and I do think now that Scotland (in the shape of Fruitcake) wants weirdly devolved powers for the home nations, England and Wales will see sense in adopting it.