Big Boris, Our Prime Minister

And what was Corbyn  a communist a defeatist an IRA sympathiser, a fantasist in reality, all Politicians lie when you get to be an adult you should remember that and the wee SNP bitch will lie just the same to get what she wants.
Stop being such a c**t

43 minutes ago, jaybee said:

Yes but they have had their 'once in generation vote' and separatism was rejected, so now in a similar manner to the remain camp in Engerlund, another vote is neede. well all I can say is that was fricking short generation.  😎

2014 vote lost relevance the moment Scotland began being dragged out of the EU after the “Scotland must stay in the UK if it wants to stay in the EU” lie.

35 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

I agree but like it or not, the left need to attract a substantial number of these Tory voters back if they ever wish to lead the country.

Calling them racists is a f**king stupid strategy.

On the contrary - they very quickly forgotten the 9 years of Tory cuts, austerity, UC disaster, food bank growth etc.

We can probably call them racists for another four and a half years, stop 6 months before 2024 GE and they’ll have forgotten all about it if 2019 is anything to go by.

3 hours ago, Bud the Baker said:

The left have to ask themselves the question "If BJ is so bad,why did so many people vote for him/the Tories?". Jeremy Corbyn said on many occasions that his style was about listening but there's little evidence to suggest that was more than a slogan. 

Listening to people's worries doesn't mean accepting them but taking the smug line adopted by Hannah & Hilary Clinton  that they're simply "racists" & "deplorables" won't work and is incompatible with the ethos of inclusivity that the left is supposed to be about, it's up to the left to argue that immigration benefits society - something NS has done frequently.

As I've said previously the "ever so clever" fudge that just about kept all the Labour factions in the tent didn't "speak to the many, just a few party activists". 

You have whipped the feet away from your argument. It is not only the First minister who has argued that immigrants are a net benefit to the UK, but the ERG, Boris, the Brexit party, the Little Englanders and those who still believe that Britannia rules the waves will never accept this.

1 hour ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

On the contrary - they very quickly forgotten the 9 years of Tory cuts, austerity, UC disaster, food bank growth etc.

We can probably call them racists for another four and a half years, stop 6 months before 2024 GE and they’ll have forgotten all about it if 2019 is anything to go by.

That's because Tory cuts, austerity, UC and food bank usage affected very few people in reality.

Most people have comfortable lives and prefer to keep it that way.

I think too many lefties forget this inconvenient truth.

Yes but they have had their 'once in generation vote' and separatism was rejected, so now in a similar manner to the remain camp in Engerlund, another vote is neede. well all I can say is that was fricking short generation.  [emoji41]
Ffs, again with this pish? Okay, once more with feeling.

Alex Salmond in an interview offered his opinion that the original indyref was a "once in a generation opportunity" and I, for one, agreed with him at the time. Not policy, not written down, not a lie, just an honest opinion.

Circumstances have changed, indyref2 is coming soon, get used to it.

25 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

That's because Tory cuts, austerity, UC and food bank usage affected very few people in reality.

Most people have comfortable lives and prefer to keep it that way.

I think too many lefties forget this inconvenient truth.

Would I be correct in saying Council Tax in Scotland has been frozen for a few years thanks to the Scottish government? Genuine question, I have no idea what the answer is.

Down here it increases year on year because central government cut council funding, forcing councils to pass the cost onto us. Cornwall Council is raising it again by 3.99% - the highest possible without triggering a local referendum to vote on a higher increase.

The number of food banks is at a record high - surely a sign of the struggles many are facing.

Benefit cuts have affected large numbers of people. The PIP cuts on the disabled was despicable. Benefit sanctions are regular for “missed appointments”, and the Work Capability Assessments have managed to deem people capable of working who end up dying a week later from their illness.

Zero hour contracts are much more commonplace these days. In the low paid sectors such as retail, where it used to be easy to pick up a decent sized contract, you are lucky to get anything 30+ hours now. I know many people working 2 or 3 jobs - because none of those places will offer them a decent enough contract which they can actually live on.

Bedroom tax - affected loads of people who have had claims for housing benefit/UC. As it happens, the Scottish government disagreed with it so much they basically told the Tories to f**k off and funded it themselves to cover every person living in Scotland who suffered from this.

You may have a circle of colleagues, friends and family around you who all live comfortably. I’ve been in the position myself in the past suffering under these problems. I know people affected by these. Having worked in low pay jobs, I know many who have battled debt, who have never gone out for some leisure because they are regularly skint, and who can’t afford to “go home early” when work asks them too, because they can’t go without the two hours of minimum wage they’d miss out on.

35 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Why does this confuse you? Is there another party known for creating jobs by being business friendly other than the Tories?

Zero hour contracts have become the norm because of the Tories.

Places like JD Wetherspoon have used them on employees for years. Even those who have been with the company 15-20 years are on zero-hours.

Is that fair? Is that right?

20 minutes ago, salmonbuddie said:

Alex Salmond in an interview offered his opinion that the original indyref was a "once in a generation opportunity" and I, for one, agreed with him at the time. Not policy, not written down, not a lie, just an honest opinion.

Here is the evidence you need the next time this “once in a generation” pish comes up.

4FDAD448-1DE3-4321-BE43-B36340E9B8C2.jpeg

Why does this confuse you? Is there another party known for creating jobs by being business friendly other than the Tories?
I'm sure Cornwall can answer for himself. However... given that these guys are in this situation after 9 years of tory government choosing to vote for a tory PM to solve it seems a bit "Stockholm Syndrome"

7 hours ago, TPAFKATS said:
7 hours ago, jaybee said:
And what was Corbyn  a communist a defeatist an IRA sympathiser, a fantasist in reality, all Politicians lie when you get to be an adult you should remember that and the wee SNP bitch will lie just the same to get what she wants.

Stop being such a c**t

So anyone who dislikes  Corbyn is a c=nt, other opinions not allowed, that reminds me of wee man wi a funny tach

5 hours ago, salmonbuddie said:
8 hours ago, jaybee said:
Yes but they have had their 'once in generation vote' and separatism was rejected, so now in a similar manner to the remain camp in Engerlund, another vote is neede. well all I can say is that was fricking short generation.  emoji41.png

wont happen

5 hours ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

Places like JD Wetherspoon have used them on employees for years. Even those who have been with the company 15-20 years are on zero-hours.

Have they?

Isn't it because companies seen a need for these contracts, however they do or don't suit people, and would been in existence no mater what party were in power? 

Oh, on your council tax query, the rates were frozen for some years (10 years I fink) but are not now. (The last 3 years I believe)

Also quite considerable rises in some areas, higher than you're quoting down there in Engerland............

Budget negotiations between local authorities and the Scottish Government agreed a maximum that rates could go up by.

The final figure agreed was 4.79%.

But not all councils have decided to increase by the agreed maximum.

Some have opted to go for a rise of 3% instead.

Doesn't your internet access Scottish Council tax facts? 

8 hours ago, jaybee said:

So anyone who dislikes  Corbyn is a c=nt, other opinions not allowed, that reminds me of wee man wi a funny tach

you've taken that beyond "dislike".  Corbyn is/was

1. communist?  More socialist and most of the policies he has put forward are actually the norm in not very radical EU countries such as Ireland
  2. Defeatist?  Who knows what you are referring to there
  3. IRA Sympathiser?  Maybe more a republican sympathiser who was happy to talk to the IRA, much in the way that Unionist John Major and realist Tony Blair did.  As Major said, it got to the point where you had to talk to the IRA.  It is those who are prepared to talk who end the killing and you don't get to the table without some empathy or some sympathy for the other side.

I feel able to offer that opinion as i am neither a Labour supporter nor a Corbyn fan, i just listened to what he has actually SAID as opposed to the media's version of it.

as for your Sturgeon comments, they kind of mark you out as a bitter, sexist C**t.  Nothing to do with disagreement and everything to do with the unpleasant way you choose to express yourself

8 hours ago, faraway saint said:

Have they?

Isn't it because companies seen a need for these contracts, however they do or don't suit people, and would been in existence no mater what party were in power? 

Oh, on your council tax query, the rates were frozen for some years (10 years I fink) but are not now. (The last 3 years I believe)

Also quite considerable rises in some areas, higher than you're quoting down there in Engerland............

Budget negotiations between local authorities and the Scottish Government agreed a maximum that rates could go up by.

The SNP have pretty much done all that they can with the council tax, rises were inevitable at some point.  the rises after the freeze are smaller than they would have been had there been no freeze.  10 years of non-consolidation mean that the tax will be lower than it would otherwise have been for many years to come as the effect of the freeze will take years of moderate rise to undo.

Have they?

Don't think they saw a 'need', faraway, more likely a way to maximise profits - I don't have a problem with companies maximising profits but not at the expense of their workers.

I'll accept that zero hours contracts work for some people - very few but they are still the best option for them - but it should be the individual's choice, not one foisted on them. Let's be clear, these are people who want to work, is it really unreasonable for them to have set hours/income if that's what they need?

Have they?

It depends what you believe. Corbyn was all for abolishing zero-hour contracts.

Employees who have been with a company for years should have a proper contract, not a shitty zero hours one that can screw them over without warning.

Frozen for ten years is good going tbf. Cornwall does have a “Very High” Council Tax figure already according to this table. I’m not sure how Scottish councils compare.

15 hours ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

Would I be correct in saying Council Tax in Scotland has been frozen for a few years thanks to the Scottish government? Genuine question, I have no idea what the answer is.

Down here it increases year on year because central government cut council funding, forcing councils to pass the cost onto us. Cornwall Council is raising it again by 3.99% - the highest possible without triggering a local referendum to vote on a higher increase.

The number of food banks is at a record high - surely a sign of the struggles many are facing.

Benefit cuts have affected large numbers of people. The PIP cuts on the disabled was despicable. Benefit sanctions are regular for “missed appointments”, and the Work Capability Assessments have managed to deem people capable of working who end up dying a week later from their illness.

Zero hour contracts are much more commonplace these days. In the low paid sectors such as retail, where it used to be easy to pick up a decent sized contract, you are lucky to get anything 30+ hours now. I know many people working 2 or 3 jobs - because none of those places will offer them a decent enough contract which they can actually live on.

Bedroom tax - affected loads of people who have had claims for housing benefit/UC. As it happens, the Scottish government disagreed with it so much they basically told the Tories to f**k off and funded it themselves to cover every person living in Scotland who suffered from this.

You may have a circle of colleagues, friends and family around you who all live comfortably. I’ve been in the position myself in the past suffering under these problems. I know people affected by these. Having worked in low pay jobs, I know many who have battled debt, who have never gone out for some leisure because they are regularly skint, and who can’t afford to “go home early” when work asks them too, because they can’t go without the two hours of minimum wage they’d miss out on.

Whilst I disagree about the link between increased foodbanks being caused by need, I am not disagreeing with much of what you say. 

What I am saying is that relatively few people in the UK are affected by these things.

15 hours ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

They have certainly not become the norm. The vast majority of all jobs are not like this.

Perhaps in some industries I would agree but they are not the norm in general. Also, many people like their flexibility. I don't particularly like these types of contracts either but let's not turn it into sonething it's not.

By the way, if you are looking for and expecting "fairness" (whatever that is) you are going to be repeatedly crushed by life.

There are no guarantees in life. My advice to anyone would be to identify what you want and go and do what needs to be done to get it. Sitting on your couch and wailing that Boris Johnson isn't personally fixing your life is just a waste of time. 

55 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

The SNP have pretty much done all that they can with the council tax, rises were inevitable at some point.  the rises after the freeze are smaller than they would have been had there been no freeze.  10 years of non-consolidation mean that the tax will be lower than it would otherwise have been for many years to come as the effect of the freeze will take years of moderate rise to undo.

Aye, I'd already figured that out.