Coventry City In Liquidation

Actually think its sad to see an established team (apart from the OF) with an honest core of fans go out of business. Coventry Fans arent glory hunting scum they are a bit like us supporting their local team through good and bad times. Poor management again leads the fans to suffer.

This was just a matter of time.Things were so bad they gave up their home stadium and were meant to be playing their home games at Northampton this season.

Coventry have sold 203 season tickets for the coming season.Northampton is 60 miles from Coventry.:o

People are forever talking, quite rightfully, about the game up here as being skint etc but the game down south is equally in big trouble. The EPL live on serviceable debt and supported by Sky while those in the lower leagues are now beginning to realise the folly of paying stupid money for mediocre players much like we did back in the 90s. Football needs to get its house in order to live within club's means (both north and south of the border) othewise we will end up with only a handful of solvent clubs outside the EPL. Portsmouth, Coventry, Leeds, Boro - all big clubs with history that have been or are in deep trouble. Sevco, Hearts, Dunfermline, Dundee - all big clubs with history in deep trouble. There will be more and you have to wonder why clubs up to their neck in debt can continue to pay players big wages - Killie with Boyd and Dungdee Utd with Goodwillie. I have no idea what they are earning but it won't be cheap.

Actually think its sad to see an established team (apart from the OF) with an honest core of fans go out of business. Coventry Fans arent glory hunting scum they are a bit like us supporting their local team through good and bad times. Poor management again leads the fans to suffer.

Actually Coventry City fans would claim that it wasn't poor management but quite the opposite. They believe that SISU is a hedge fund that was created to put Coventry City into liquidation so it could profit from buying the stadium on the cheap. Take from that what you will but the fans are suffering.

There was an excellent programme on TV earlier this week that charted Swansea City's plight over the last decade from being sold for £1 and almost going out of the football league to being bought by fans who have since delivered Premiership Football, a League Cup win and a return to Europe. The best and only way forward for clubs like Coventry City, Hearts and even for the likes of St Mirren, who have a majority shareholding up for sale, is for the fans to take control of the club.

People are forever talking, quite rightfully, about the game up here as being skint etc but the game down south is equally in big trouble. The EPL live on serviceable debt and supported by Sky while those in the lower leagues are now beginning to realise the folly of paying stupid money for mediocre players much like we did back in the 90s. Football needs to get its house in order to live within club's means (both north and south of the border) othewise we will end up with only a handful of solvent clubs outside the EPL. Portsmouth, Coventry, Leeds, Boro - all big clubs with history that have been or are in deep trouble. Sevco, Hearts, Dunfermline, Dundee - all big clubs with history in deep trouble. There will be more and you have to wonder why clubs up to their neck in debt can continue to pay players big wages - Killie with Boyd and Dungdee Utd with Goodwillie. I have no idea what they are earning but it won't be cheap.

Am I the only person that reads Neds posts with a Ned Flanders voice in my head?

Actually Coventry City fans would claim that it wasn't poor management but quite the opposite. They believe that SISU is a hedge fund that was created to put Coventry City into liquidation so it could profit from buying the stadium on the cheap. Take from that what you will but the fans are suffering.

There was an excellent programme on TV earlier this week that charted Swansea City's plight over the last decade from being sold for £1 and almost going out of the football league to being bought by fans who have since delivered Premiership Football, a League Cup win and a return to Europe. The best and only way forward for clubs like Coventry City, Hearts and even for the likes of St Mirren, who have a majority shareholding up for sale, is for the fans to take control of the club.

It's a classic example of what happens when ventures which were designed for the community to share become owned by people and run purely for profit.

Tories amongst us might want to consider this.

It's a classic example of what happens when ventures which were designed for the community to share become owned by people and run purely for profit.

Tories amongst us might want to consider this.

Hmm - congratulations you've just scored 10/10 on the hypocrisy scale for that post. You spent ages last night and this morning lambasting Desperately Seeking Susan for making a political statement at a football match, and yet here you are using a football forum to make a political statement. :rolleyes:

Maybe Coventry could groundshare with Clyde..?

They are both shining examples of how to run football clubs... into the ground... the reverse over them... then run them down again.... then reverse over them...etc

Maybe Coventry could groundshare with Clyde..?

They are both shining examples of how to run football clubs... into the ground... the reverse over them... then run them down again.... then reverse over them...etc

As I've pointed out to you several times Clyde, since becoming a CIC, have completely cleared a £500k debt. They are now in the black and are starting the new season with cash in the bank for the first time in 15 years. Swansea City lost the old Vetch Field home and now ground share with the Ospreys at the council owned Liberty Stadium and haven't looked back since. :rolleyes:

Which cylde are we talking about..?

the one that plays at shawfield? hamilton, firhill, recreation park, broadwood...

or the sevco in east kilbride version?

Yes they certainly take the club to the fans, pity the fans struggle to keep up with where they might be playing each week. A shining example

Fcuk' um'. Wrexham, Dundee, Rangers, Livingston, Motherwell, Gretna, Portsmouth, Leeds, Hearts.... insert another 100 clubs here. Fcuk' um'.

It's gone beyond sympathy for the good honest people who will lose their jobs now. Football is fcuked in the head. It needs a few of em' to actually do a Third Lanark and disappear down the U-bend to put an end to the endless cycle of football clubs ripping the fcuking pish out of everyone - taxpayers, small creditors... if we are expected/demanded to offer sympathy to cleaners, cooks, groundsmen and ticket office lassies who get laid off, then fine, I'll run with that - but what about the poor chunts who are offered 1p in the pound?

Fcuk' um!

Ah you mean like St Mirren? Is it Love Street or Greenhill Road?

Terrible. 0/10!

Love Street: Paisley.

Greenhill Road: Paisley.

Shawfield: Rutherglen.

Broadwood: Cumbernauld.

Next stop: East Kilbride.

Poor show Stu! I expect better from you.

Ah you mean like St Mirren? Is it Love Street or Greenhill Road?

Yes one ground we owned and sold for more than the combined value of Sevco and Hertz (f**king stonking piece of business)

The other ground we had built to order, bought and own (Worth £8m)

And we are debt free.... but like you say we can all learn from what Clyde have achieved, they are OWNEd by everyone!

You sure about SUSI Dicko? They didn't buy Coventry until after they left Highfield Road, and Coventry didn't own the new stadium.