shull Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Indded Lord Shull, you can certainly be proof of that. I dinnae need alcohol...................... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FS Posted September 22, 2012 Report Share Posted September 22, 2012 Turf Tavern shut doon by the licensing board... http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/pub-loses-licence-to-sell-alcohol.18936720 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obi-Wan Ben Kenobi Posted September 22, 2012 Report Share Posted September 22, 2012 Turf Tavern shut doon by the licensing board... http://www.eveningti...lcohol.18936720 I walked past it on Wednesday and had a wee peek through the windows. It seemed to be all empty and dark and then I saw a padlock on the doors. I'm really not surprised. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davidg Posted September 22, 2012 Report Share Posted September 22, 2012 Turf Tavern shut doon by the licensing board... http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/pub-loses-licence-to-sell-alcohol.18936720 Great news. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
braidmeister Posted September 22, 2012 Report Share Posted September 22, 2012 Great news. They'll probably just find another pub to move on to the crazy jakes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eastlandssaint Posted November 18, 2012 Report Share Posted November 18, 2012 I see the Kelburne bar has re opened. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted November 18, 2012 Report Share Posted November 18, 2012 I see the Kelburne bar has re opened. What was Dezarows is also re-opening.The lassie that has Kilty/Caffufals/Tartan Rose has taken it over so I expect it to be a decent pub. Also The College Bar is closing and changing to a restaurant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stmirren#1 Posted November 18, 2012 Report Share Posted November 18, 2012 Have they done anything with the hole in the wa' yet or still dormant ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FS Posted November 18, 2012 Report Share Posted November 18, 2012 Have they done anything with the hole in the wa' yet or still dormant ? Was used as a site office for the night shift crew putting the roof over PGS, but now dormant again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FS Posted November 18, 2012 Report Share Posted November 18, 2012 I see the Kelburne bar has re opened. Hope it lasts a bit longer this time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest TPAFKATS Posted November 18, 2012 Report Share Posted November 18, 2012 Also The College Bar is closing and changing to a restaurant. Thankf**k Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RickMcD Posted November 21, 2012 Report Share Posted November 21, 2012 Can anyone remember if there were any pubs in Silk Street from the 60's until the early 80's and if there were can you name them? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davidg Posted November 21, 2012 Report Share Posted November 21, 2012 Can anyone remember if there were any pubs in Silk Street from the 60's until the early 80's and if there were can you name them? Was told there was a pub/club called Paris there? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billyg Posted November 21, 2012 Report Share Posted November 21, 2012 Can anyone remember if there were any pubs in Silk Street from the 60's until the early 80's and if there were can you name them? Scandals ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billyg Posted November 21, 2012 Report Share Posted November 21, 2012 And in the 60s ................................... The Tweedsmuir ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Callum Gilhooley Posted November 21, 2012 Report Share Posted November 21, 2012 Was told there was a pub/club called Paris there? Ahhh Paris ! The stuff of my teenage " grab a granny wednesday" dreams !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Callum Gilhooley Posted November 21, 2012 Report Share Posted November 21, 2012 Btw , wednesday was a regular for some of the younger camphill teachers. if your reading this .... Hi Miss Millar !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RickMcD Posted November 22, 2012 Report Share Posted November 22, 2012 Thanks for your replies about pubs in Silk Street. Does the name Tall Bar or Toll Bar mean anything to anybody? Again it was supposed to be in Silk Street but not sure when Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
2becks Posted November 22, 2012 Report Share Posted November 22, 2012 Btw , wednesday was a regular for some of the younger camphill teachers. if your reading this .... Hi Miss Millar !! It was actually Mrs Miller . . . she's still around I see her at Morrison's on Falside Road occasionally. Don't remember seeing her in Paris though . . . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest somner9 Posted November 22, 2012 Report Share Posted November 22, 2012 Thanks for your replies about pubs in Silk Street. Does the name Tall Bar or Toll Troll Bar mean anything to anybody? Again it was supposed to be in Silk Street but not sure when Fixed! and i know who drinks there? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FS Posted November 22, 2012 Report Share Posted November 22, 2012 The Toll Bar was on Gauze Street at the junction of Incle Street, roughly where the gable end at Dominos (former Clydesdale Bank) is. It was demolished to make way for the dual carriageway created when the Mill Street area was redeveloped to create the council buildings. Pictures of it are available in the usual Paisley history books. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
insaintee Posted November 22, 2012 Report Share Posted November 22, 2012 It was actually Mrs Miller . . . she's still around I see her at Morrison's on Falside Road occasionally. Don't remember seeing her in Paris though . . . Ah that weekend in Paris in Mrs Miller Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
buddiecat Posted November 22, 2012 Report Share Posted November 22, 2012 (edited) Can anyone remember if there were any pubs in Silk Street from the 60's until the early 80's and if there were can you name them? the tweed bunnet disco was a previous name for the upstair venue Edited November 22, 2012 by buddiecat Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miss Saint Posted November 22, 2012 Report Share Posted November 22, 2012 Paris - unders discos - dearie me! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted December 23, 2012 Report Share Posted December 23, 2012 The old Bruce Arms/Russells has opened up again,this time as De Beira. I also heard a rumour that Hamishes House is moving to the old Hogshead!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...