January Signings

Flareybob

18 minutes ago, MenstrieSaint said:

Could Alfie Jones come back to us now that Southampton have had him back for a few weeks to assess him? 

Possible i suppose, but I dont think they rated how he was developed with us?

Willock is going back out on loan, but he doesn't want to come back to us either. You have to remember our captain went to the media greetin about players like Jones & Willock who he slated for not having played much football. Then there was the whole 'outkasts' thing with a whole host of players not training with the first team squad.

its coming back to bite Oran, McGinn etc.. and it already took a chunk oot of Cammy's erse!

6 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Sorry forgot to say he's got Psg & Psv to savour, as opposed to Alloa last weekend!

having been part of a defence thats shipped six in two games ( incl the mighty Alloa), what is this experience and error reduction that big PoP's  is bringing so far?

Oh and Celtic ! That is the other reason we shipped 6 goals in 2 games - they have put 5 by another Premiership Team this season too.

Usual Pi*h, from you - get a life :fire

It seems to be endemic on here where people titter at typos and almost go into cardiac arrest at the ever more inventive intervention of auto correct into posted. 

I use a phone or a hand held to post. My hand held's auto correct is particularly inventive! 

I should have said auto correct and not typo :D

20 minutes ago, MenstrieSaint said:

Could Alfie Jones come back to us now that Southampton have had him back for a few weeks to assess him? 

Unlikely given the we sent Alfie back and contrary to a certain poster's opinion, he was not called back due to any unhappiness of the loaning club.

Much like Fylde sent Kellerman back, we didn't recall him.

4 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

Unlikely given the we sent Alfie back and contrary to a certain poster's opinion, he was not called back due to any unhappiness of the loaning club.

New Southampton coach on record calling back loanees including Jones. Who personally wouldn't comeback under the current regime. 

Southampton have officially confirmed that defender Alfie Jones has been recalled from a loan spell with Scottish outfit St Mirren. The Premier League club have stated that the 21-year-old will “have the chance to impress the new boss having returned to the south coast.”

On the chalkboard

If Jones has been recalled in order to become a member of the first team then that is a bold call on the part of Ralph Hasenhuttl, but also one that ought to be applauded and that could ultimately pay off for the German coach. With transfer funds likely to be tight at St Mary’s Stadium, finding an internal solution to the Saints’ lack of defensive depth would be a smart move.

5 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

Then that is a shocking decision to send back a guy playing well when you are unsure if Anton was staying or if Popescu was going to join

7 minutes ago, Iamhammer said:

Then that is a shocking decision to send back a guy playing well when you are unsure if Anton was staying or if Popescu was going to join

That may be a shocking decision in your opinion, if we had sent him back rather than Southampton recalling him. But we didn't, and they did.

36 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Sorry forgot to say he's got Psg & Psv to savour, as opposed to Alloa last weekend!

having been part of a defence thats shipped six in two games ( incl the mighty Alloa), what is this experience and error reduction that big PoP's  is bringing so far?

PSG U23s. PSV U23s. Not exactly the first teams he is facing is it?

What is the point of mentioning Alloa considering it was a cup fixture? Are Manchester United immune from games against lower league opposition? Our fans may not enjoy it, but many players who haven’t played in Scotland before do look forward to visiting Parkhead and Ibrox, or taking on Celtic or Sevco 2012.

Six goals in two games - one of those seen us concede four at a ground where high-flying Kilmarnock had 5 smashed past them. Hearts took a beating there, also conceding 5. St Johnstone lost 6-0 at home. The two goals against Alloa have already had blame aimed at the midfield, leaving the defenders exposed due to the lack of tracking back. Was Popescu individually at fault for these goals? We’ve conceded a fair amount with big Anton in, doesn’t mean he’s been shite individually.

1 minute ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

What is the point of mentioning Alloa considering it was a cup fixture? Are Manchester United immune from games against lower league opposition? Our fans may not enjoy it, but many players who haven’t played in Scotland before do look forward to visiting Parkhead and Ibrox, or taking on Celtic or Sevco 2012.

Six goals in two games - one of those seen us concede four at a ground where high-flying Kilmarnock had 5 smashed past them. Hearts took a beating there, also conceding 5. St Johnstone lost 6-0 at home. The two goals against Alloa have already had blame aimed at the midfield, leaving the defenders exposed due to the lack of tracking back. Was Popescu individually at fault for these goals? We’ve conceded a fair amount with big Anton in, doesn’t mean he’s been shite individually.

Were I a player,  I'd love going to those big grounds and playing in front of the sizes of crowds there. 

Actually.. Enjoyed the light show. 

41 minutes ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

Why does mentioning other teams that got gubbed make us getting gubbed any the less shitty? It makes no sense, unless you then cite teams like Airdrie who went there a few days before us and put on a much better performance!

is that more balanced?

45 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Why does mentioning other teams that got gubbed make us getting gubbed any the less shitty? It makes no sense, unless you then cite teams like Airdrie who went there a few days before us and put on a much better performance!

is that more balanced?

The point I’m making is much better teams than ourselves have faced Celtic and taken a heavy beating. Not one of our players would get into that Celtic XI, that’s the task that was placed upon us. When other teams have conceded 5 or 6 against them, us conceding four is no surprise.

3 hours ago, Sonny said:

The same man who signed John Sutton, Gary Brady, Billy Goal Machine Memhet, Craig Dargo, Will Haining, Andy Dorman, Jack Ross, Steven Thomson?

The very same, the one who also signed Mo Camara, Dennis Wyness, Tom Brighton etc. Two can play that game.

ETA - very amusing seeing Gary Brady lumped in with that list of very good players... were you struggling for names?

Edited by W6Saint

10 minutes ago, W6Saint said:

Is anything I said untrue? Stop being an arse and contribute to the discussion.

Your first point: the only possible way we would have been outdone by a Championship side would have been down to them promising first team football while we couldn’t. Aside from that, unless he’s got family up in Inverness we don’t know about, we probably weren’t ever in for him.

Second point: You use one thing Gus said to make him look bad. He kept up in the top flight for 5 years solid, having taken over when we were struggling in the league below. When was the last time we managed to stay in the Premier League for over 5 years?

Alongside that he was the first manager to get us into the League Cup Final since the 50s, and our first Scottish Cup semi since ‘87. The guy was a success here. And seeing as you are quoting who would want to join us if he’s the man talking - someone above me has already quoted the good quality players who came in. Your quote on the poorer players is irrelevant in the context of the discussion as your original question was along the lines of who would want to play for a club with a man like that involved. Hence the example of good players that DID come to play under Gus.

3 hours ago, MenstrieSaint said:

We certainly need a defensive midfielder from what I can see. Maybe get him back and play in the position his club want him to play in this time!