Livingston versus St Mirren

guinness

12 minutes ago, W6er said:

I gave up on politics well over a decade ago. I think politicians are pretty much all self-serving, spineless hypocrites - though I can at least admire Ross for taking an interest in the game and having the baws to run the line. And I certainly don't think he's any worse than Sturgeon, Salmon or Yousaf. 

I find party politics to be tribalistic and divisive - the assertion that 'all right thinking people must think Ross is a c**t' is illustrative of this - therefore I don't like to see our club involved in it in anyway (unless a party is willing to pay for advertising boards). I would happily leave that to the arsecheeks. 

Sorry bud but my point was that REGARDLESS of your politics, all right thinking people should think Ross is a c**t……because he is. 
As for having the “baws” to run the line, why should he need any more baws than the next linesman??

14 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Sorry bud but my point was that REGARDLESS of your politics, all right thinking people should think Ross is a c**t……because he is. 
As for having the “baws” to run the line, why should he need any more baws than the next linesman??

Because he's singled out for abuse due to his political activity:

GreenBrigadebanner.jpg.d16b7a7ebb990aef2c6a72298e5821d1.jpg

26 minutes ago, W6er said:

I gave up on politics well over a decade ago. I think politicians are pretty much all self-serving, spineless hypocrites - though I can at least admire Ross for taking an interest in the game and having the baws to run the line. And I certainly don't think he's any worse than Sturgeon, Salmon or Yousaf. 

I find party politics to be tribalistic and divisive - the assertion that 'all right thinking people must think Ross is a c**t' is illustrative of this - therefore I don't like to see our club involved in it in anyway (unless a party is willing to pay for advertisi boards). I would happily leave that to the arsecheeks. 

That's twice you have mentioned Sturgeon. Yousaf. And Salmond whilst praising Ross for having the balls to run a line.I would hazard a guess your a Tory trying to defend the undefencible The man's a grade A c**t .

Just now, elvis said:

That's twice you have mentioned Sturgeon. Yousaf. And Salmond whilst praising Ross for having the balls to run a line.I would hazard a guess your a Tory trying to defend the undefencible The man's a grade A c**t .

This will be my last comment on the matter, as I am conscious that this is a match thread.

Elvis, I haven't voted for many years. I have stated as much, however if you don't believe me then there's little I can do about it, as even if I were inclined to try to prove my lack of a party political affiliation, then I do not see how that's possible.

I have seen no evidence that Ross is any worse than those other three mentioned - one of whom is being investigated by the police for very serious matters, another was alleged to have been a sex pest (albeit not found guilty of the 14 allegations, to the very, very high standard of proof required).

The reaction to this is exactly why I don't like the club or our fans being overtly political, i.e. it is divisive. I cannot help but  think that when @TPAFKA Jersey 2 states 'my point was that REGARDLESS of your politics, all right thinking people should think Ross is a c**t', it is actually because of Ross's politics he has formed such an opinion of him. However, I am not willing to explore this any more. I don't come here to talk about politics and I feel I have made my point. I will not respond to any antagonism or abuse directed at me, not that I am anticipating any, and will bow out of this conversation. Thanks. :) 

14 minutes ago, W6er said:

This will be my last comment on the matter, as I am conscious that this is a match thread.

Elvis, I haven't voted for many years. I have stated as much, however if you don't believe me then there's little I can do about it, as even if I were inclined to try to prove my lack of a party political affiliation, then I do not see how that's possible.

I have seen no evidence that Ross is any worse than those other three mentioned - one of whom is being investigated by the police for very serious matters, another was alleged to have been a sex pest (albeit not found guilty of the 14 allegations, to the very, very high standard of proof required).

The reaction to this is exactly why I don't like the club or our fans being overtly political, i.e. it is divisive. I cannot help but  think that when @TPAFKA Jersey 2 states 'my point was that REGARDLESS of your politics, all right thinking people should think Ross is a c**t', it is actually because of Ross's politics he has formed such an opinion of him. However, I am not willing to explore this any more. I don't come here to talk about politics and I feel I have made my point. I will not respond to any antagonism or abuse directed at me, not that I am anticipating any, and will bow out of this conversation. Thanks. :) 

I see you forgot about the Ross indiscretions or do they not count.

3 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

So just to be clear, there should be gate sharing in Scottish football because Celtic and Rangers are bigoted?

Got it. 👍

Not quite, it seems, TPAFKA…

I have been suggesting that there was a better, more functional way in which to organise Scottish Football and your sole reason to reject it seems to be that no other league does it.  We used to, things were better/fairer all round, so why not return to that?

Scotland has a loopy way of looking at our world particularly through a law which dictates that all Scots have a freedom, the right to roam, wherever they may wish to roam.  Most countries do not have such rights.

Are you also suggesting that because that law doesn’t exist in Jersey (or anywhere else in mainland Europe, or North America or…) that Scotland should abandon that right to roam - just because no one else does it?

You’ve never seemed to me to be someone unable to look for improvements in how things work (or don’t).  Why is this one impossible?

14 minutes ago, antrin said:

Not quite, it seems, TPAFKA…

I have been suggesting that there was a better, more functional way in which to organise Scottish Football and your sole reason to reject it seems to be that no other league does it.  We used to, things were better/fairer all round, so why not return to that?

Scotland has a loopy way of looking at our world particularly through a law which dictates that all Scots have a freedom, the right to roam, wherever they may wish to roam.  Most countries do not have such rights.

Are you also suggesting that because that law doesn’t exist in Jersey (or anywhere else in mainland Europe, or North America or…) that Scotland should abandon that right to roam - just because no one else does it?

You’ve never seemed to me to be someone unable to look for improvements in how things work (or don’t).  Why is this one impossible?

Some bizarre comparables there Antrin. 
In terms of your last paragraph, you are right that I am someone who likes to look for improvement but I expect those improvements to be achievable rather than pie in the sky and I expect them to economically viable.
Your views on this chime with pointless nostalgia and also I suspect your fairly extreme left wing political views. Views I very much used to share when I was young and naive. 
Now, I am very much still a socialist at heart (or at least try to always maintain a social conscience), but by your suggestion that means  should be hankering after the good old days of overly powerful trade unions, strikes and everything that went with it. I don’t. 
It’s 2023. We can’t still live in the plot of The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists. 

38 minutes ago, BigYardsAndBasher said:

That's a great word.  Have a "like" just for using it on here, Sir. 👍

It’s not a great word in my opinion. Well, not in this context anyway and shows Antrin’s disdain for his own people. Denigrating the entire country of Scotland because old firm fans are bigoted. Pitiful. What an English wannabe Uncle Tom he is. 
Very little I dislike more than people who move away from Scotland and in doing start to believe they are better than those they left behind. 

28 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

It’s not a great word in my opinion. Well, not in this context anyway and shows Antrin’s disdain for his own people. Denigrating the entire country of Scotland because old firm fans are bigoted. Pitiful. What an English wannabe Uncle Tom he is. 
Very little I dislike more than people who move away from Scotland and in doing start to believe they are better than those they left behind. 

I haven't a clue who Antrin is or how he feels about Scotland and the people who live here.

I like to read his posts as quite often I read words that I've not read or heard for a long time and sometimes words I'm not familiar with.

I simply thought that seeing the word "benighted" was refreshing given this forum is usually flooded with things such as "living rent free in your head", "looney", "grow up", constant pish about aliases and likes.  I know what kind of words and phrases I'd rather read but I guess that's what life's all about, we all like different things and some people's standards are higher than others, some people's standards are lower than others.  None of this is directed at you personally TPAFKA Jersey 2.  You are usually a good poster with fairly balanced views, especially on matchday threads.

1 hour ago, BigYardsAndBasher said:

I haven't a clue who Antrin is or how he feels about Scotland and the people who live here.

I like to read his posts as quite often I read words that I've not read or heard for a long time and sometimes words I'm not familiar with.

I simply thought that seeing the word "benighted" was refreshing given this forum is usually flooded with things such as "living rent free in your head", "looney", "grow up", constant pish about aliases and likes.  I know what kind of words and phrases I'd rather read but I guess that's what life's all about, we all like different things and some people's standards are higher than others, some people's standards are lower than others.  None of this is directed at you personally TPAFKA Jersey 2.  You are usually a good poster with fairly balanced views, especially on matchday threads.

Likewise to you mate. I wasn’t having a go at you. I was having a go at the word, or more to the point the context it was being used in. 👍👍

Nah…

…you were having a go at me, probably cos you had no rational response to my very measured suggestions.

So you invented fanciful shite about my attitude to Scotland and Scots.
Sad and also wholly inaccurate.

As you strongly believe that “benighted” is a wholly inaccurate word to describe Scotland’s relationship with the twin buttocks, I must assume that you're proudly all in favour of exporting it and that you’d prefer to call it, “healthy”, “progressive”… “something other countries should try to develop”.

26 minutes ago, antrin said:

Nah…

…you were having a go at me, probably cos you had no rational response to my very measured suggestions.

As you strongly believe that “benighted” is a wholly inaccurate word to describe Scotland’s relationship with the twin buttocks, I must assume that you're proudly all in favour of exporting it and that you’d prefer to call it, “healthy”, “progressive”… “something other countries should try to develop”.

Yeah but that’s not what you said is it?

You directly referred to Scotland as a benighted country. How the f**k does Scotland the country have “a relationship” with the old firm. They are fitba teams ffs!

The fact that you think Scotland is defined (as benighted) by the fact that it has two fitba teams with generally cuntable fans says everything about your opinion of Scotland in general. 
As BigYardsAndBasher said, you provide some decent content to the board half the time. That’s when you’re not having juvenile spats with other posters (“Fartaway” for example - I mean come on - how infantile can you get) or when you’re denigrating the country of your birth. 

35 minutes ago, antrin said:

Nah…

Sanctimonious Keech of the highest “Antrin” order….bring back “Chingford” 🙏

7 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Yeah but that’s not what you said is it?

You directly referred to Scotland as a benighted country. How the f**k does Scotland the country have “a relationship” with the old firm. They are fitba teams ffs!

The fact that you think Scotland is defined (as benighted) by the fact that it has two fitba teams with generally cuntable fans says everything about your opinion of Scotland in general. 
As BigYardsAndBasher said, you provide some decent content to the board half the time. That’s when you’re not having juvenile spats with other posters (“Fartaway” for example - I mean come on - how infantile can you get) or when you’re denigrating the country of your birth. 

Well… I certainly wasn’t making it up - more important folk than me were expounding it.

During the process of Rangers going tits up and dying through having robbed the tax authorities of milllions of pounds in order to cheat every other club… the leader of of the political party (that you inexplicably worship from your southern offshore island) definitely was convinced that there was a precious relationship with the bigots, that their “cuntable fans” (genuinely love your work, there!) had to have their heritage protected.

He asked that the revenue go easy on the tax frauds, let them off the hook.

He said “Rangers is part of the fabric of Scotland”.

Indeed, that was happening whilst HE was First Minister of Scotland and said,

"We've certainly been arguing to HMRC on one hand, and indeed to Rangers, to for goodness sake get a settlement, get a settlement and a structure over time whereby Rangers can continue because Rangers must continue for the future of Scottish football and for the fabric of the country."

Shockingly, he even got handers fae the Tory leader of the UK to back him up, 

"It has an extraordinary history. It has a very special place in many people's hearts in Scotland and no-one wants to see that club disappear. 

"So I hope that HMRC will work as closely as they can with the administrators to try to solve the problems, to try to resolve the issues."

”Issues”, bifuc!

I had no need to denigrate the country of my birth, when its leaders choose to wallow in a venal morass of corruption, claiming there’s nothing to see here, folks...

You have a surprisingly short memory.  Good job I’m here - lest we forget…

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/9086664/Rangers-must-continue-for-the-future-of-Scottish-football-and-for-the-fabric-of-the-country-says-Alex-Salmond.html

(Many other links are available).

2 -1 Saints....Hijack over
5-1 to Saints my weekly bet starting today 200/1 in both Ladbrokes & Corals.

The way this team has been playing one week it's going to click and we'll pump somebody very little chance of it happening today as nobody pumps them on their own patch that's what will make it sweeter when Saints surprise me & do it today.

Sent from my T610K using Tapatalk

22 minutes ago, Ronnie said:

The way this team has been playing one week it's going to click and we'll pump somebody very little chance of it happening today as nobody pumps them on their own patch that's what will make it sweeter when Saints surprise me & do it today.

125/1 on Bet 365 for that @Ronnie, and, TBH, after last weeks game, the controversy aside, we could easily have had another couple of goals so we are in a position to give somebody a doing. 

In saying that I'll got for a more conservative, oops, bad word, 1-3. :wink:

39 minutes ago, Ronnie said:

To be clear Ronnie, is that a 200-1 victory at 5-1?