St Mirren V Partick Thistle 25/1/2014

We played too wide today and gave up the middle of the park. Goodwin and McGinn were great and coverered enormous amounts of ground to try and hold Thistle. Campbell is fast and skillful but for me he has to play wide as he is pushed off the ball too easily in the middle and quite easily shackled. Wylde has some great crosses but his work-rate was poor and he hugged the touch-line waiting for things to happen. However the guy hasn't played regularly so we have to cut him some slack.

Does Danny Lennon have a contractual agreement with Recarro that he must be seen in the seats for 90 mins. Get off your arse and manage the fkin team FFS!

We can't cope with teams pressing us. They broke with pace and we trundled around until a punt up the park came fizzing back at us. Not impressed today at all.

Aye, we spoke about that.

How much it really matters is a moot point, but it gives a poor impression, and inevitably raises questions. He isn't doing himself any favours by failing to demonstrate that he is passionate about his team doing well during the 90 minutes.

I also think your point about teams pressing us is spot-on. It was obvious that Archibald had done his homework after the Hibs game, and they knew how to stifle us, and accomplished it with some ease. We were second to too many balls, stood off them too often (Goodwin and McGinn being the exceptions, to some degree), and failed to control the game as a result.

Wylde - meh Goodwin - thats the Goody of old! Thommo looks shattered. Yellow card for the foul on Goodwin - red other way about! Their num3 that tried to get Goody booked - arse and fair play to the ref for not falling for it.

All in - cauld and meh!

Since the ref didn't book their number 3 I hope tv evidence shows it was clearly a dive and a complaint goes to the compliance officer and of course the media highlight the fact that other clubs players are trying to get Goodwin booked.

Could Adam Campbell have played on the shoulder of mair today? Thommo flick ons? Mair wasn't tested at all today which I can't work out. Surely his lack of pace could have been exploited? Campbell's signed as a striker and is now playing on the wing? I remain confused by Danny and Tommy's tactics. Plus points we didn't lose and bad points it's another big game at home we have failed to win. Top six finished and a relegation battle now to be avoided.

It was pointed out that due to Campbell being lightweight and getting nothing out of central defenders, the Celtic game painfully highlighted this, that he's more effective out wide, like, say last week when he had a field day against HIbs?

Can't do right for doing right. 1eye.gif

It was pointed out that due to Campbell being lightweight and getting nothing out of central defenders, the Celtic game painfully highlighted this, that he's more effective out wide, like, say last week when he had a field day against HIbs?

Can't do right for doing right. 1eye.gif

He is better on the wing. His most telling contribution today was a run down the wing and past their full back.

I think this is blatantly obvious, but it is all about opinions.

Wylde - meh Goodwin - thats the Goody of old! Thommo looks shattered. Yellow card for the foul on Goodwin - red other way about! Their num3 that tried to get Goody booked - arse and fair play to the ref for not falling for it.

All in - cauld and meh!

Did you get a taxi home?

Post your route on google maps and give us the price and describe the demeanor of the taxi driver in great detail please?

We are positively enthused to know your travel habits

Edited by murray street

Today we didn't lose the midfield battle. We simply lost our midfield! Wilde and Campbell were wasted as we couldn't win the second, or even third phase ball. In the second half it looked like Campbell was playing right back and central midfield as he chased to get a touch. Newton looked well off the pace when he came on. What would we do without McGinn? A ray of sunshine in the teeming torrent of mediocrity today.

Given all those negatives we still should have won this game by a couple. At Firhill we let Thistle do what they do as this time around. the difference is we punished their wastefulness.

Thought McGregor was superb today and is gaining in confidence with the more games he plays.

Goodwin was effective defensively but that leaves all he creative stuff to McGinn who did well again but at times was the only one with any real urgency.

As far as Campbell is concerned he was shocking today, was pushed back by Taylor Sinclair and got nowhere near his man.

But that was Lennon's team selection, what works last week doesn't necessarily work the next and we fail to adapt our formation to cope with the opposition.

Substitutes today there was not one of them you would have said would be able to come on and make any difference and provide a goal from somewhere. 3 full backs on the bench, 1 midfielder and 2 lightweight strikers who will struggle to make an impact on under 20 defences let alone SPL defences. Is it any wonder Mair didn't break sweat.

Well, that was shite wasn't it? After a great win away in Edinburgh we let Partick outfight and arguably outplay us today. Thank god they can't score goals.

Some decent performances (Goodwin, McGregor) but the worrying thing was the complete lack of shape, organisation or anything resembling tactics. Why did Campbell play so deep? Why did we never have more than 1 player in their box? Why are our midfielders so slow in running forward when we are in possession?

Today wasn't good enough and for Lennon to blame it on the weather pretty much sums him up.

Don't know what to make of that today, we were pish today, gave them far too much room and time on the ball, they were running with the ball from the half way line to our 18 yard box far too easily, 2nd too every ball for most of the day, they were more up for it than us. Wylde looks like he will be a good signing, fired in some decent balls. Newton looked decent when he came on, gave us a bit of drive that we were missing.

Wonder why there's no covers over the pitch? Seems Motherwell have had then down all week and intend to have them down as long as they can up until kick off!

There was talk on the radio that they were worried that the game at Fir Park was in danger as much as ours was. We have no covers as we have under soil heating that works. Surely when you take covers off all of the water on top goes on the pitch rather than draining away over the course of a longer period longer period of time if it is left uncovered.

how much did it cost us to sweeten the deal then ? or are you making this up for some strange reason ?

I don't know but I do know that a few years ago in a similar situation we offered to pay 50% of Dennis Wyness's wage - do you seriously believe Mair went without getting the full value of his contract?

It's not so much that we've had to sweeten the deal, that's pretty much the norm when you want to move a player on it's that we're paying him to play for one of our immediate rivals in the fight to avoid the play-off spot at a time when we're struggling to fill the bench with realistic options.

A game we should have been expecting to win - Thistle are experiencing the same sort of slump we did in our first season in the SPL (they've won 2 games since August - one of those against Hearts!) we should've been streetwise enough to beat them but I fear we never will win these sort of games on a regular basis with Danny Lennon as manager.

Thompson and McGowan were woeful today.

Campbell pinned back and playing in wrong area. Wylde started OK but faded fast and unlike some are saying, his ball delivery was poor, should have been subbed but may get better with games.

Goodwin and McGregor very good, McGinn good when on ball but not often enough.

You wonder what out management team are seeing during games? As Danny is never out of his dug out wonder if he would be better viewing from back of main stand to get a higher vantage point and relay instructions from there?

All in all baltic, wish we hadn't bothered shelling out for that one today. Meh thumbdown.gif

Bizarre game in that they had all the possession and we had most of the chances. Thommo a rare poor game and Gowser was honking-3k a week to pass the buck when in one on one ! Wyldes delivery good 1st half but tired. Goodwin outstanding back to his best and McGregor good today but overall not good enough to merit 3 points and Thistle deserved theirs.

Thompson looks like he could with a few weeks off, the guy looks totally f**ked.

Agreed. Sadly we don't have a Parkin-esque player this season to lessen the weight on the gods shoulders.

He's 35 and he's playing 90 minutes every game.

Let's hope Bahoken gets fit and gets good, let's hope he's good enough to take some of the pressure off,