The Politics Thread

1 hour ago, stlucifer said:

Now you ARE clutching at straws. All of those mentioned have absolutely nothing to do with colour. But you knew that. The very events you mention are celebrated by folk  of all different shades because we ARE a multicultural nation. They are the things that unify, not single one section out as different.  Most are celebrations of national pride and, as far as St. Mirin's day is concerned. You must be alone in the phone booth celebrating that.

The rest is just REAL nonsense.

It’s difficult to discuss any rational issues around this with some people on the left. They will denigrate you, call you thick and when that fails call in the big guns of bigotry and racism to try and shut down debate.  Although I am pretty sure they don’t know the actual meaning of these words. Why use this as a strategy? Because it shuts down debate from the average joe who wants answers to questions. 

5 hours ago, antrin said:

I’m not willing to debate reasonably!  :lol:

I explained why a black history show was perfectly valid and made economically sound sense to portray black people on tv.

You said that was speculation, so I explain that I had worked in the industry and did know a bit about it.

You shifted focus to whinge about too many of “them” on adverts.

So I thought - as you seem to not concentrate/focus at all well that I'd respond to your concerns, one by one… so you could do better - but now you cannot cope with that, either!

It’s really not at all difficult to copy and paste my quotes in order to respond, if you really believe you have a decent response to offer.

I believe I’m try to debate reasonably. Just because I disagree and explain why you may be wrong, does not render me unreasonable, I think.  Annoying….  . Aye. Mibbees….

There are scores of tv productions that I never watch.  I don’t bleat about them.  I’m not anywhere in the LGBT+ range but I seldom watch tv shows focussing on that, but I also don’t get het up about it taking up my tv time.  
And I honestly don’t believe shows of that sort “continue highlighting of historical grievances, or the promotion of identity politics; it is unhealthy and divisive. “ It's the opposite - they show we’re all Jock Tamson’s bairns and should live and let live.  

Same with Strictly, pudsey bear, secret singer(?), soap operas, some shite Scottish and Irish so-called sit-coms.

I know how to change channels.   

I also suspect none of those shows will lead us into an occupied Palestine situation… whereas, people like you angrily trying to suppress such self-expression is a recipe for ill-feeling.  At minimum.

Beyond our Ken gave you a get-out above - reminding you of the multiplicity, variety, kaleidoscope of choice on your screens.  till you prefer to double-down on what appears to 

I have always understood that advertisers will endeavour to make their adverts appeal to their target demographic - e.g. Disney will target children and families; Saga the elderly; lingerie firms will target women, etc. That advertisers overrepresent black people in their adverts seems odd to me, especially as my understanding is that black people tend to be more likely to belong to lower socio-economic groups; in addition to the aforementioned unconscious bias and even the conscious bias of prejudiced consumers. 

You have stated that you have vast experience working in the industry, however, and so I will concede that you know more than me. I'm not inclined to call you a liar and it would be unreasonable to ask you to provide proof, given your right to anonymity. So, I simply have to trust you. 

Not that I believe you are lying, but if you were, then there would be absolutely no point in debating with you.

So, I will bow out of the debate and let you enjoy your win. :) 

5 hours ago, antrin said:

Burns night, St George’s day, (Andrew, Paddy and Dave), 4th of July, StMirin’s day. (And St Mirrren’s day) - and a myriad other things that highlight different backgrounds and culture are part of what makes this an interesting country to live in.

We should get rid of all these?  All aspects of our difference?

Stop showing programmes about hill-walking in Scotland in case it offends flat-earthers in Suffolk?  Stop showing weather forecasts of floods expected in Cornwal whilst Wick basks in sunshine?  Stop showing Coronation Street in case Scousers get pished off and stop showing kids tv about Wombles in case the Clangers take the huff?

Aye, I’m being silly - only way to respond to this anti-black nonsense dressed up as faux-concern.

(sorry didn’t mean to drive a wedge between any of us by using a French word, in there…)

Please could you add Christmas and Easter to the list of banned events?

After all the historians can’t even agree on the fcuking dates.

Once tomorrow is out the way I’m sure it won’t be long until the first Christmas lights get switched on in the local streets and the music starts to get played?

I am partial to a mince pie. Already seeing local supermarkets stocking Christmas meals.

FFS JUST GIES FCUKING PEACE ON EARTH YA CLOWNS

1 hour ago, W6er said:

I have always understood that advertisers will endeavour to make their adverts appeal to their target demographic - e.g. Disney will target children and families; Saga the elderly; lingerie firms will target women, etc.

Kays and Littlewoods catalogues back in the day were a form of soft porn for many a schoolboy pre internet. 😂 

13 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

Bye bye Suella. A truly nasty piece of work. 

I think she's got exactly what she wants. The great thing is that this is likely to cause the nasty tories to implode. The far right will be determined to gain complete control. The bad thing is there is another year before we can get rid and, even then, the SNP have been duped into destroying there chance of taking advantage of the situation and the only UK alternative is a red tory package.

36 minutes ago, stlucifer said:

It's ridiculous that you can have a non elected individual holding an official high office position.

Even more ridiculous that the SNP Health Secretary could run up roaming charges of over £11,000

That's an awful lot of porn. :lol:

Some brass neck trying to claim this on expenses right enough. https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-12740737/SNP-Health-Secretary-Michal-Matheson-urged-hand-iPad-parliamentary-probe-Tories-demand-used-11-000-holiday-data-bill-scandal.html

SNP Health Secretary Michal Matheson urged to hand over iPad for parliamentary probe as Tories demand to see detail of what he used it for in £11,000 holiday data bill scandal

• Opposition leaders have demanded to see the details of what exactly the Health Secretary was using the data for during his trip 
  •  

Even more ridiculous that the SNP Health Secretary could run up roaming charges of over £11,000

That's an awful lot of porn. :lol:

Some brass neck trying to claim this on expenses right enough. https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-12740737/SNP-Health-Secretary-Michal-Matheson-urged-hand-iPad-parliamentary-probe-Tories-demand-used-11-000-holiday-data-bill-scandal.html

SNP Health Secretary Michal Matheson urged to hand over iPad for parliamentary probe as Tories demand to see detail of what he used it for in £11,000 holiday data bill scandal

• Opposition leaders have demanded to see the details of what exactly the Health Secretary was using the data for during his trip 
  •  

Free view on television x for me, oh how the other half live 😅