billyg Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 Can anyone imagine if JR was still here and we brought Gus in as tech director , JR would tell the BOD to do one. We don't need him ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Isle Of Bute Saint Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 2 minutes ago, delpierro said: I'll be going to the cinema a lot more! Could you pick the toys up first. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ged62 Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 I see BillyG has made a come back he’s been quiet for a wee while, ffs here we go again. Gus isn’t even here yet & he’s hounding him out. [emoji6] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delpierro Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 Could you pick the toys up first. Ooh mrs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billyg Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 4 minutes ago, ged62 said: I see BillyG has made a come back he’s been quiet for a wee while, ffs here we go again. Gus isn’t even here yet & he’s hounding him out. I haven't been quiet at all , I 've been a lot happier recently with the state of the club. Gus was hounded out the last time , he shouldn't be asked back imo. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gorgo Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 No no no How to f###k up a new appointment in one quick move What technical knowledge does Gus have? Oh yes I forgot how to lose to nine men. How not to give young players a chance. How to keep playing Andy millen well past his playing days How to make John Potter captain and play him week in week out. How to bore the fans to sleep How to divide the club and fans How to keep in post way past your sell by date. Was looking forward with expectations until this was brought up Too much baggage and I can see him interfere with the team like Tommy Craig. Bad move Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DougJamie Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 FFS- So much for the good will towards the BOD . If Oran keeps us in the league like Gus did , gets us to a national Final like Gus did ( albeit diff result) I will be happy................... The two meet, the two get on basically WGAF what some moaners on here think Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billyg Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 1 minute ago, gorgo said: No no no How to f###k up a new appointment in one quick move What technical knowledge does Gus have? Oh yes I forgot how to lose to nine men. How not to give young players a chance. How to keep playing Andy millen well past his playing days How to make John Potter captain and play him week in week out. How to bore the fans to sleep How to divide the club and fans How to keep in post way past your sell by date. Was looking forward with expectations until this was brought up Too much baggage and I can see him interfere with the team like Tommy Craig. Bad move Seems it taken most of the bozos on here only 8 years to forget how bad things became. Great post ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ged62 Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 I haven't been quiet at all , I 've been a lot happier recently with the state of the club. Gus was hounded out the last time , he shouldn't be asked back imo.OK I must of missed your post then lol Your entitled to your opinion but one or 2 post will do [emoji6]We’re all happier now. I’m OK with OK & Gus TBH. OK will be in charge though so no worries. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billyg Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 2 minutes ago, DougJamie said: FFS- So much for the good will towards the BOD . If Oran keeps us in the league like Gus did , gets us to a national Final like Gus did ( albeit diff result) I will be happy................... The two meet, the two get on basically WGAF what some moaners on here think Some ??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MenstrieSaint Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 when we sacked Gus did we not pay his wages until he got another job , hence why he was out of a job for so long ? I actually think the fact that he tried to get as much out of St Mirren as he could , before taking another job , has actually held him back . His recruitment was very good , he was very tactically aware , perhaps over cautious , but put together a decent team . He did however upset a few people , and bearing in mind the current upheavals about the club at this current time , I don,t think this is a wise decision , Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
elvis Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 I have not read all of this thread but there was a scout on the other week saying that no one from the club bothered even looking at recommendations that they made to them and it pissed him off enough to resign I would think this will be one of the roles a T. D would be doing I personally thought it embarrassing that it became public knowledge the way it did. I thought it was very remiss of the club not to follow up on these players there could have been a gem there that we missed out on all because no one bothered to follow up on the leads this will hopefully be rectified by a T. D. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 Some ??? Aye "some".Plenty are no doubt willing to accept the decision and give the new model a chance.Maybe, like me, they cannae be arsed getting into petty squabbles with people who have clearly made their minds up regardless of what has happened since then or what the new role involves! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bazil85 Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 29 minutes ago, delpierro said: I'll be going to the cinema a lot more! I always thought Gus was miss-quoted on this TBH. I'm sure it's a famous Bobby Williamson quote and he only referenced it from his time in Kilmarnock. Anyone got the interview? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirty Sanchez Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 Did the guy Toon Saint on here not recommend a young Andy Carroll to Gus, who told him to beat it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delpierro Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 I never deal in facts or misquotes, it might spoil my gripe [emoji12] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dave The Buddie Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 This will split the supporters views that’s for sure. Queens Park are struggling in League 2 so perfect timing for Gus to jump ship.As long as OK is happy with it and doesn’t see Gus as a threat then it’s all good as far as I’m concerned. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drew Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 2 minutes ago, Dave The Buddie said: This will split the supporters views that’s for sure. Aye, we have been (nearly) united for 4 or 5 days. I suppose it was very optimistic to expect it to continue beyond that. It will be interesting to hear a bit more about what this role consists of, and what GMac has to say about it should he be appointed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DougJamie Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 30 minutes ago, billyg said: Some ??? Yeah good point. Well I am not................. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soctty Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 Gus will not be coming in as manager, won't have any input on team matters, and will be here to advise, recruit and provide a constant overseeing eye on football matters. As long as it is made clear that OK is in charge of all footballing matters there shouldn't be an issue. The relationship between Gus and Oran will be crucial - if they don't get on then it's a non starter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Isle Of Bute Saint Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 Am I missing something here ? Has Gus been appointed manager ? No , ( NO ) . He will be out watching potential future signings reporting to ( HIS BOSS ORAN ) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magic Monkey Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 17 minutes ago, Dirty Sanchez said: Did the guy Toon Saint on here not recommend a young Andy Carroll to Gus, who told him to beat it? Yeah, that's 100% true. Carroll was freely available for loan and Kenny spoke to Gus to point this out. Wasn't in the slightest bit interested. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
elvis Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 This is a totally different role from being the manager so what are peoples problems with it. Other than the fact it Gus who by the way I thought done a teriffic job as manager. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ged62 Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 The club will decide who gets the job so no need to get upset before someone is even appointed. ffs Let the BOD & the new set up who ever they appoint get on with it. Typical B&WA, calm doon [emoji6] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted September 12, 2018 Report Share Posted September 12, 2018 While I'm not bothered one way or the other I would think Gus wouldn't see himself as 2nd to anybody and that could cause issues. He's been a manager too long, IMO, to become a bit of a nothing, more so in a club where he was the manager. It is amusing to see the meltdowns right enough. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...