salmonbuddie Posted October 11, 2021 Report Share Posted October 11, 2021 On 10/6/2021 at 6:02 PM, Eric Arthur Blair said: I was driving past earlier today,there was a tarpaulin saying "This restaurant is closed, your nearest KFC is...". Couldn't read the last bit, I'm guessing it said Hillington or The Phoenix. I was going to reply with 'Probably Braehead' but Callum's reply is much more correct... 🙂 On 10/7/2021 at 6:03 PM, Callum Gilhooley said: Every bit as bad as every other KFC ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Just resurrecting this thread as Jimmy H and I are sitting in a boozer in Bournemouth chatting about Paisley Pubs. Jimmy cannae remember a pub called Iona Skye in the Wesr End and I cannae remember any other names it had. Any offers? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Actually cancel that last question. Apparently it was the Bar Point. Im thinking of a pub that was on the opposite side of the road. f**ks knows. I’m getting too auld. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 34 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said: Just resurrecting this thread as Jimmy H and I are sitting in a boozer in Bournemouth chatting about Paisley Pubs. Jimmy cannae remember a pub called Iona Skye in the Wesr End and I cannae remember any other names it had. Any offers? Meadow Cottage restaurant and takeaway chip shop before that.. owner then turned it into the pub Bar Point Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 1 hour ago, portmahomack saint said: Meadow Cottage restaurant and takeaway chip shop before that.. owner then turned it into the pub Bar Point Aye but I was getting mixed up. I’m sure the pub I was thinking of was on the opposite side of the street from the Bar Point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 2 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said: Aye but I was getting mixed up. I’m sure the pub I was thinking of was on the opposite side of the street from the Bar Point. Rosebud? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 1 hour ago, portmahomack saint said: Meadow Cottage restaurant and takeaway chip shop before that.. owner then turned it into the pub Bar Point Owned by Piero Pieraccini before he sold up and opened Hamish hoose Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmy H Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 1 minute ago, ALBIONSAINT said: Rosebud? Wasn’t that one mate, the one we’re thinking of was if you drive up the hill on Well St to the traffic lights, there was a pub straight in front of you opposite side of the road, it’s probably been closed down for years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Just now, Jimmy H said: Wasn’t that one mate, the one we’re thinking of was if you drive up the hill on Well St to the traffic lights, there was a pub straight in front of you opposite side of the road, it’s probably been closed down for years. The well meadow? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ianmac Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Was it something like 'Argyll and Sutherland'? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Cant get its original name but it’s still a pub.....just Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 3 minutes ago, ianmac said: Was it something like 'Argyll and Sutherland'? Campbeltown islay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alanb Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 7 minutes ago, Jimmy H said: Wasn’t that one mate, the one we’re thinking of was if you drive up the hill on Well St to the traffic lights, there was a pub straight in front of you opposite side of the road, it’s probably been closed down for years. Campbeltown and Islay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ianmac Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 4 minutes ago, ALBIONSAINT said: Campbeltown islay Oh well, at least Campbeltown is in Argyll. I count Argyll and Sutherland as a near miss...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumbriansaint72 Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 15 minutes ago, ALBIONSAINT said: Owned by Piero Pieraccini before he sold up and opened Hamish hoose Was he the owner for a long time? If it is who I think I went to school with his daughter Veronica. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 It was - briefly - The Inshot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 7 minutes ago, Cumbriansaint72 said: Was he the owner for a long time? If it is who I think I went to school with his daughter Veronica. You missed out there mate, could have married a girl who’s dad owned pubs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 33 minutes ago, ALBIONSAINT said: Campbeltown islay 32 minutes ago, alanb said: Campbeltown and Islay That’s the fella. Suppose I wasn’t a million miles away with Ions Skye. Thanks chaps. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPAFKA Jersey 2 Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Jimmy and I currently in “The Goat and Tricycle” in Bournemouth. Doubt a pub called that would last long in the West End of Paisley. 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmy H Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Thanks Gents, it’s amazing the amount of pish you start reminiscing about when sat on the lash in random Bournemouth pubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmy H Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 Oh, you can see we’re just ignoring each other and on our phones. 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmy H Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 One boozer I do remember is the Fulbar inn as Portmahomack Saint will remember well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 4 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said: Jimmy and I currently in “The Goat and Tricycle” in Bournemouth. Doubt a pub called that would last long in the West End of Paisley. 🤣 “The Goat and Tricycle”? I think that usetae be called, “The Coo and PennyFarthing”? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 2 minutes ago, Jimmy H said: One boozer I do remember is the Fulbar inn as Portmahomack Saint will remember well. I played pool in there a few times, that apart, too far out of the way to frequent very often. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted June 18, 2022 Report Share Posted June 18, 2022 12 minutes ago, faraway saint said: I played pool in there a few times, that apart, too far out of the way to frequent very often. Did it not have a snooker table in it too? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...