windae cleaner Posted July 4, 2022 Report Share Posted July 4, 2022 I knew John first by playing fitba. Then it seemed he worked behind every bar I went into. Always had time to say hello and have a wee gab. A total gentleman I last saw him a few months ago when he was watching his son playing fitba. I had no idea he was ill and yesterday like many others came as a shock. RIP John and your cowboy boots Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted July 20, 2022 Report Share Posted July 20, 2022 (edited) Johns funeral is on Fri,11:30am at Woodside The funeral cortege will pass Corkers at 11am before driving up New St past Borgia and Paddys The service is available online Edited July 20, 2022 by HSS Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted July 20, 2022 Report Share Posted July 20, 2022 6 minutes ago, HSS said: Johns funeral is on Fri,11:30am at Woodside The funeral cortege will pass Corkers at 11am before driving up New St past Borgia and Paddys The service is available online Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted July 22, 2022 Report Share Posted July 22, 2022 Farewell John,RIP Bud 😥 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FTOF Posted July 22, 2022 Report Share Posted July 22, 2022 Just back. Crematorium was mobbed. A great send off for John. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted July 22, 2022 Report Share Posted July 22, 2022 46 minutes ago, FTOF said: Just back. Crematorium was mobbed. A great send off for John. Aye,knew it would be so stayed clear Heard there was actually a couple of hundred that couldn’t get into the Crematorium. Stood outside the old Paddys with a few mates and a lot of the old bar staff Waited til the cortège passed then went home and watched online Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FTOF Posted July 22, 2022 Report Share Posted July 22, 2022 5 minutes ago, HSS said: Aye,knew it would be so stayed clear Heard there was actually a couple of hundred that couldn’t get into the Crematorium. Stood outside the old Paddys with a few mates and a lot of the old bar staff Waited til the cortège passed then went home and watched online I was one of them. You couldn't really hear the ceremony, but i got to pay my respects to John. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted September 19, 2022 Report Share Posted September 19, 2022 The Alamo is being turned into a convenience store (not a shop that sells urinals I have been reliably informed) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scott-Leeds Posted September 20, 2022 Report Share Posted September 20, 2022 The Alamo is being turned into a convenience store (not a shop that sells urinals I have been reliably informed) My Dad used to play Darts/Doms in there in the 80s when we lived in Caledonia St - I think a busy wee place back in the day Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted September 20, 2022 Report Share Posted September 20, 2022 3 hours ago, Scott-Leeds said: My Dad used to play Darts/Doms in there in the 80s when we lived in Caledonia St - I think a busy wee place back in the day My Father in Law was the manager in there for a few years 🍺🥃🍷🍹🍸 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted September 20, 2022 Report Share Posted September 20, 2022 17 hours ago, ALBIONSAINT said: The Alamo is being turned into a convenience store (not a shop that sells urinals I have been reliably informed) My Local at Barrhead Centre turned into a Convenience Store a few years ago . Not very convenient for a Pint and a game of Pool Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scott-Leeds Posted September 21, 2022 Report Share Posted September 21, 2022 I’ve said previously, like many of you all that this is by far and away the best thread on here, by quite a distance I’m genuinely grateful for the pictures/comments and memories you all shareI genuinely really don’t mind being older 53 - but, I really miss my youth and Paisley from when I was growing up in the 70s and 80s We’ve all got great wee stories to share and It’s sad there’s nothing in recent times to come close to what you all share on hereStill a town in decline but can it recover in our lifetime? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scott-Leeds Posted September 21, 2022 Report Share Posted September 21, 2022 I’ve said previously, like many of you all that this is by far and away the best thread on here, by quite a distance I’m genuinely grateful for the pictures/comments and memories you all shareI genuinely really don’t mind being older 53 - but, I really miss my youth and Paisley from when I was growing up in the 70s and 80s We’ve all got great wee stories to share and It’s sad there’s nothing in recent times to come close to what you all share on hereStill a town in decline but can it recover in our lifetime? Oops I meant the Paisley pictures thread …..sorry Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WeeBud Posted September 21, 2022 Report Share Posted September 21, 2022 6 minutes ago, Scott-Leeds said: Oops I meant the Paisley pictures thread …..sorry This isn't a bad one either 🍺 🍺 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pod Posted September 21, 2022 Report Share Posted September 21, 2022 On 9/19/2022 at 8:47 PM, ALBIONSAINT said: The Alamo is being turned into a convenience store (not a shop that sells urinals I have been reliably informed) Is that one of those out of date, overpriced stores, that sells duty free beer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted September 21, 2022 Report Share Posted September 21, 2022 9 hours ago, pod said: Is that one of those out of date, overpriced stores, that sells duty free beer. Either way they are taking the piss 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted October 2, 2022 Report Share Posted October 2, 2022 What's the best night for a night out in Paisley, a Friday or a Saturday? Getting together with a few mates in November, somewhere a bit lively, maybe karaoke or some entertainment? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted October 2, 2022 Report Share Posted October 2, 2022 2 minutes ago, faraway saint said: What's the best night for a night out in Paisley, a Friday or a Saturday? Getting together with a few mates in November, somewhere a bit lively, maybe karaoke or some entertainment? Mates? You? 😂😂😂😂😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chalky1 Posted October 2, 2022 Report Share Posted October 2, 2022 Cave (Botton of New Street)normally have a band on I think, Kenneddy's Anchor & Welly have Karaoke. Bull Inn normally ok. Swan is an older group I think. Start top of Neilston Rd and do the pub crawl and either go straight on at Kennedy's or go left and go up New Street Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted October 2, 2022 Report Share Posted October 2, 2022 5 minutes ago, chalky1 said: Cave (Botton of New Street)normally have a band on I think, Kenneddy's Anchor & Welly have Karaoke. Bull Inn normally ok. Swan is an older group I think. Start top of Neilston Rd and do the pub crawl and either go straight on at Kennedy's or go left and go up New Street Might be an idea, staying with a mate at McIntyre place. Cheers. Mind drop off my money from the Scotland game the other week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pod Posted October 2, 2022 Report Share Posted October 2, 2022 1 hour ago, chalky1 said: Cave (Botton of New Street)normally have a band on I think, Kenneddy's Anchor & Welly have Karaoke. Bull Inn normally ok. Swan is an older group I think. Start top of Neilston Rd and do the pub crawl and either go straight on at Kennedy's or go left and go up New Street That will suit him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted October 2, 2022 Report Share Posted October 2, 2022 What's the best night for a night out in Paisley, a Friday or a Saturday? Getting together with a few mates in November, somewhere a bit lively, maybe karaoke or some entertainment? Cave (Botton of New Street)normally have a band on I think, Kenneddy's Anchor & Welly have Karaoke. Bull Inn normally ok. Swan is an older group I think. Start top of Neilston Rd and do the pub crawl and either go straight on at Kennedy's or go left and go up New StreetAlso Ugly Duck has karaoke on Friday (I think) and Saturday (definitely). Abbey Bar has it on Saturdays - that's normally where you'll find me, so you know where to keep away from. [emoji16] The Charleston on both nights, the Balnagowan on Saturdays (not sure about Fridays) - handy if starting at McIntyre Place. Swan normally have a band on late Saturday afternoon into early(ish) evening but sometimes it's ticket only. Anchor sometimes have a band on Saturday afternoons.I don't often go out on Fridays, so can't really answer the Friday/Saturday bit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pod Posted October 2, 2022 Report Share Posted October 2, 2022 2 hours ago, faraway saint said: What's the best night for a night out in Paisley, a Friday or a Saturday? Getting together with a few mates in November, somewhere a bit lively, maybe karaoke or some entertainment? The Bungalow Bar Paisley upcoming events. (skiddle.com) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted October 9, 2022 Report Share Posted October 9, 2022 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 11, 2022 Report Share Posted November 11, 2022 The big reunion is all planned for next Saturday, 19th. Meeting in the Craigdhu before heading out to Braehead for 10 pin bowling, few games of pool, something to eat then back into Paisley. Nothing "nailed on", just take it as it comes, probably start in Gabriels and wander from there. Bet it's raining. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...