Annan Athletic V St Mirren - Challenge Cup Round 2

TopCat

FFS!

Im away to bed.................heids bursting! death.gif

Cheers and thanks for the info.Hope yer heid feels better in the morning.

PS.Is the draw on live anywhere?Apart from Hampden obviously.Is it?Is it?

Made hard work of it but always going to with a team like that. Seven changes from Saturday and a lot of kids playing. Stewart had a great game at leftback aside from his goal and there were some other decent players at all.

Impressive giving away a penalty after 16 seconds :lol: Glad to get through, that's all that mattered. Totally different team on Friday - Ridgers will be back for starters. Jim Duffy was there and will have learned sod all of use.

Much better 2nd half performance and we deserved to go through in the end.

Gow shouldn't be anywhere the starting 11 in Friday even though he scored the deflected winner.

Not a Goodwin fan but until we shift him and replace with someone better (if we can), he needs to play every week.

Langfield, class above any keeper we've had in a long time. Organisation skills, communication, distribution and a few good saves. Must start on Friday.

Two great saves and two good ones from Clangers kept us in the hat tonight. That added to McMullan coming on and actually giving their defence something to worry about (dirty bastards).

As i said and called for since the Sheffield game, Goodwin came in and settled down our defence. He gained possession played a pass... Unfortunately Mallan, Howieson and the wage thief Gow f**ked up 95% of what was played to them, thus we were straight back under pressure.

Young Stewart had a good game. But that performance wont worry Morton make no mistake, it was poor, but just enough to get us through.

Cuddihy after failing to prevent the pass that led to the penalty that wasnt... Played ok, most of their moves were coming down our left though. Gow was piss poor, and the goal stunned him as much as the saints fans. Thats him top scorer now Ffs.

As Andy Townsend would say in his in-depth match analysis on ITV..."Better"

Thought it was a similar game to the Dumbarton game.

As in both games, the first half performance was an absolute disgrace and we deservedly went in at half time losing to part time opponents.

Again, as in both games the second half performance was much improved and we equalised quickly.

And now the difference. Unlike the Dumbarton game, when we should have went 2-1 ahead but Gallagher missed a sitter... This time we took the chance and did go 2-1 ahead. Albeit through a deflection.

After that the performance went back to rubbish again. Just like after we we missed the chance against Dumbarton. All in all we were pretty lucky to get through.

However, as I said before the game, all that really mattered was progression, and we have progressed. When you look at some of the humiliations dished out to our fellow Championship teams tonight (Falkirk especially), this is a good result.

We remain as firm second favourites for the trophy. Good. A kind draw (Peterhead or Stenny at home would do nicely) and we have one foot in the semis. Still see no reason why we can't win this cup, again.

Be interesting to see the team on Friday... Thommo was rested, injured or...? Get him in the squad Murray, regardless of how scared you are that he wants your job. Pride comes before a fall.

Was Luke Conman playing? That's a worry if teams have identified our left as a major weakness already!

No he was an unused sub.

Our left back was Jordan Stewart, I thought he along with Langfield were our two best players.

Quite the indictment of how the game went...

Terrible ground, McMullan on as a sub, takes the ball past a guy and is hacked down when he was well past the guy, similar tackle 5 minutes later, sums up Annan. If Jim Goodwin had made those tackles he would have been red carded for either of them. Wont be unhappy if thats the last time we have to go to that dump.

Aye terrible... People smoking, smuggling in fish suppers, irn bru and aw sorts...

lovely wee ground.

good banter with the stewards and polis who were friendly.

Cheap admission.

Bovril for £1 and good pies.

Comfy seat with plenty legroom.

Friendly natives.

Lighten up! What wasn't to love?

Aye the tackles were crude... they were tiring by that stage. At no time were they dirty a la Motherwell or ICT.

Neither were a red card. The first one was worse tho but not s bad as Bairds tackle on Lee Wallace but that was never a red either. Was a late tackle, nothing more.

Saints were very lucky to progress. Thought Annan created the better chances and for me, Langfield was our Motm. Was great to hear him talking and organising the young lads in front of him. We will need to up our game considerably if we are going to win on Friday.

Edited by BIG BEN

lovely wee ground.

good banter with the stewards and polis who were friendly.

Cheap admission.

Bovril for £1 and good pies.

Comfy seat with plenty legroom.

Friendly natives.

Lighten up! What wasn't to love?

Aye the tackles were crude... they were tiring by that stage. At no time were they dirty a la Motherwell or ICT.

Just an observation, not a dig at your post.... Our BoD, when releasing the match day/admission info for last night stated they had "with Annan taken into account it was a long round trip on a tuesday night, and that was reflected in the gate prices being asked"

Thats nice... Because Annan only charge £10 for all their games, so who was thinking of fleecing both sets of fans last night..?