New 1877 Members Only Supporters Club

This really needs a rethink from whoever is in charge of the project.

The supporters bar must operate as a 'supporters' bar for all. It will generate alot more income if it runs like every other bar in town without exclusive membership.

Look what happened to the members bar that operated under the caledonia stand at love street, it attracted about 10 people after the games.

At least smisa canvassed the support before going ahead with their latest project, the fans council should have done likewise to look at funding options and operating models.

£6 for guests btw?!

Think the guest sign in is a step in the right direction. You can't really expect people to pay a monthly membership fee then have guests come in for nothing, otherwise why would anyone join ?

It's not perfect but I don't think all 300 places will actually be taken up which might increase the scope for some sort of walk up capacity.

Still expect those users to pay though. Maybe £6 entry with first drink included might have been a better shout but the guys in the FC will have done their sums.

Personally still undecided as to whether or not to take up my place.

i raised a number of serious points with the fans council rep who wrote to me concerning the reasons why i won't take up the offer. The response beggars belief. "i'm sorry this doesn't tick all of the boxes for yo

Bloody hell, Jay Z is on the fan council?

I have a young family and wouldn't be able to commit to going to this pre and post every home game or even every other home game. I am convinced that the vast majority of the 300 signed up won't be using it every week either. I would however head out for a wee St Mirren drinking day a few times a year and would definitely have made the 1877 bar my pre and post match destination and spent a few bob. I think a lot of us would fall into that category and I think that's where the bar/club would make its money.

I guess its got to be a balancing act between providing a facility for people to socialise on match day even just at a break even basis as long as it doesn't start running at a loss and costing club money.

I am sure after half a dozen games they will be able to gauge the level of pay on the day customers as I am sure that will be the way forward for it to break even/make money.

It will be interesting to see how it all pans out.

I always wondered what impact a facility like this might have on corporate.

Edited by Mr Zo

https://vimeo.com/129598819

In the Alamo bar in Paisley, cowboy and Native American memorabilia adorn the walls where Robert Burns groups meet but how far do the links between Paisley and America really go? This documentary explores the Scottish influence at the battle of the Alamo and ways in which American culture reflected back on Scottish society a hundred years later.

Just another word on the Alamo, saw a nice wee 20 minute film piece on it on facebook a couple of days ago, relating to both the Burns Club and the American old west memorabilia, too bad I'm such an old luddite who has no idea how to post it on here.

And just as I mention it, there it is, nice work Bud77 :thumbs2

GREAT FILLUM, Buddies!

GREAT.

Thanks for bringing it tae my attention. Thoroughly enjoyed that. :)

At Love Street we had a bar that folks could pop into pre-match.

It was seldom busy despite entry being free.

Aye, there were more alternatives in the area, but I always took the viewpoint that I'd rather the club got my few bob.

Going back a number of years there was a members club that met in the main stand.

The Sportsmans Club.

It was a tiny wee room in the main stand but was always quite full.

Fair play to the folks who have funded the initial investment, but personally I see that as far too big a cost for such an infrequent event and too exclusive to be a long-term success in the initial format.

At Love Street we had a bar that folks could pop into pre-match.

It was seldom busy despite entry being free.

Aye, there were more alternatives in the area, but I always took the viewpoint that I'd rather the club got my few bob.

Going back a number of years there was a members club that met in the main stand.

The Sportsmans Club.

It was a tiny wee room in the main stand but was always quite full.

Fair play to the folks who have funded the initial investment, but personally I see that as far too big a cost for such an infrequent event and too exclusive to be a long-term success in the initial format.

The more I think about it the more I see it as a glorified gang hut for an elitist clique to lord it up over a few others they allow to help fund their gang hut. I don't participate in any of their fund raising ventures because I don't see them as a fans council but more FOSMA II. For me a true fans council would take this to the great unwashed first and listened to their ideas before making a decision.

Anyway I'm a member of the best Saints supporters club in the world, there is no membership fee, it is open to all and it meets wherever there are two or more Saints supporters. I've had far too many great times in the pubs in and around Paisley and much further afield commiserating, celebrating, meeting friends and discussing all things Saints to join.

It's great that the facility is being created, just a shame that they half arsed thought their way to a terrible proposal.

Think the guest sign in is a step in the right direction.

Too late for "a step in the right direction" given that the scheme has already been launched and places filled, not to mention another 10 steps would be required before getting to anything remotely sensible, The already changing goalposts after only 3 days suggests that Davidg was correct, the whole thing was half baked.

Doomed to fail. This scheme needs put out its missery, or a full body transplant.

Edited by civilsaint